Saturday, January 24, 2015

The Last Time We Say Goodbye by Cynthia Hand

Title: The Last Time We Say Goodbye
Author: Cynthia Hand
Pages: 400
Genre: Contemporary 
Publisher: HarperTeen 
Release Date: February 10, 2015
Buy: Amazon| Kobo| Chapters Indigo| B&N
** ARC was provided by publisher for review*

Summary (Goodreads


There's death all around us.
We just don't pay attention.
Until we do.


The last time Lex was happy, it was before. When she had a family that was whole. A boyfriend she loved. Friends who didn't look at her like she might break down at any moment.

Now she's just the girl whose brother killed himself. And it feels like that's all she'll ever be.

As Lex starts to put her life back together, she tries to block out what happened the night Tyler died. But there's a secret she hasn't told anyone-a text Tyler sent, that could have changed everything.

Lex's brother is gone. But Lex is about to discover that a ghost doesn't have to be real to keep you from moving on.

From New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand, The Last Time We Say Goodbye is a gorgeous and heart-wrenching story of love, loss, and letting go.


Review: 

I have always loved Cynthia Hand's writing because it feels like you are actually in that main characters place.This book just broke my heart and then started to bring it slowly back together by the end of the book. The Last Time We Say Goodbye is one book that brings awareness to what happens to a family who has lost someone very close to them and the ramifications of their suicide that can happen. I was aware that there has been a number of teen suicides has been rising but Hand does an amazing job with her main character Lex, who is going through an emotional rollercoaster since her brother killed himself. 

Lex's brother Ty, has committed suicide at the age of 16. He was popular, a basketball star who has a ton of friends, but then decides to end it during his junior year of high school. I feel bad for Lex because she blames herself.  Why did he want to do this? Did she notice the signs? Why didn't she reply to the text he sent her? Lex has pushed away her friends, boyfriend and is having a hard time with her grief. In therapy her therapist asks her if she can write a journal to recall her past with her memories of what happened to explain what was happening with her brother. She also wants to know if there was a specific reason why he ended his life. Lex then connects with his friends and ex-girlfriend. 

Death can affect a family differently. Lex's views throughout the novel was normal because she just lost her brother at the same time trying to move on since its her last year of high school. Along the way she reconnects with her neighbor who is helping her through this process. Lexie's boyfriend Steven is so cute. He is also a math nerd like her and has been her friend since grade school. He has been by her side since Ty's death but did not give up on her as a friend when she broke up with him. I did love the flashbacks of their past as well since he is such a romantic. I was totally rooting for them to hopefully get back together. 


When I read emotional books I know I will cry. I loved Cynthia Hands other series (Unearthly) which I adored! The Last Time We Say Goodbye was incredibly moving that at the end the author shares her own story of what happened to her brother. Loss is very hard but its real. Even though the book is fiction, the author's experience definitely shows in her writing since it felt realistic. Recommending this one to everyone! 

5/5
 

Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Cover Reveal: All Played Out (Rusk University #3) by Cora Carmack

Holy smokes are we excited to bring you the cover for Cora Carmack's ALL PLAYED OUT! ALL PLAYED OUT is a New Adult Contemporary Romance and is the 3rd book in the Rusk University Series, published by William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins. It is due to be released on May 12, 2015!! If you haven't had a chance to read this sexy, fun series yet, be sure to grab ALL LINED UP and ALL BROKE DOWN!   Image Map  

Pre-Order Your Copy Today!

Amazon ** Barnes & Noble ** iTunes

Add ALL PLAYED OUT on Goodreads!

About ALL PLAYED OUT: First person in her family to go to college? CHECK. Straight A’s? CHECK. On track to graduate early? CHECK. Social life? …..yeah, about that…. With just a few weeks until she graduates, Antonella DeLuca’s beginning to worry that maybe she hasn’t had the full college experience. (Okay... Scratch that. She knows she hasn't had the full college experience). So Nell does what a smart, dedicated girl like herself does best. She makes a "to do" list of normal college activities. Item #1? Hook up with a jock. Rusk University wide receiver Mateo Torres practically wrote the playbook for normal college living. When he’s not on the field, he excels at partying, girls, and more partying. As long as he keeps things light and easy, it's impossible to get hurt... again. But something about the quiet, shy, sexy-as-hell Nell gets under his skin, and when he learns about her list, he makes it his mission to help her complete it. Torres is the definition of confident (And sexy. And wild), and he opens up a side of Nell that she's never known. But as they begin to check off each crazy, exciting, normal item, Nell finds that her frivolous list leads to something more serious than she bargained for. And while Torres is used to taking risks on the field, he has to decide if he's willing to take the chance when it's more than just a game. Together they will have to decide if what they have is just part of the experiment or a chance at something real.  

And don’t miss the first two books in the Rusk University Series…

RU books 1and 2 Banner  

ALL LINED UP, Book 1

ALL BROKE DOWN, Book 2

Headshot    About Cora Carmack: Cora Carmack is a twenty-something writer who likes to write about twenty-something characters. She's done a multitude of things in her life-- boring jobs (like working retail), Fun jobs (like working in a theatre), stressful jobs (like teaching), and dream jobs (like writing). She enjoys placing her characters in the most awkward situations possible, and then trying to help them get a boyfriend out of it. Awkward people need love, too. Her first book, LOSING IT, was a New York Times and USA Today bestseller.      

Website ** Twitter ** Facebook ** Author Goodreads

Tuesday, January 20, 2015

Wicked (A Wicked Saga #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: Wicked (A Wicked Saga #1)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Pages: 300
Genre: New Adult/Paranormal
Release Date: December 8, 2014
Buy: Amazon| Kobo   Paperback: Amazon

Summary: (Goodreads)

Things are about to get Wicked in New Orleans.

Twenty-two year old Ivy Morgan isn’t your average college student. She, and others like her, know humans aren’t the only thing trolling the French Quarter for fun… and for food. Her duty to the Order is her life. After all, four years ago, she lost everything at the hands of the creatures she’d sworn to hunt, tearing her world and her heart apart.

Ren Owens is the last person Ivy expected to enter her rigidly controlled life. He’s six feet and three inches of temptation and swoon-inducing charm. With forest-green eyes and a smile that’s surely left a stream of broken hearts in its wake, he has an uncanny, almost unnatural ability to make her yearn for everything he has to offer. But letting him in is as dangerous as hunting the cold-blooded killers stalking the streets. Losing the boy she loved once before had nearly destroyed her, but the sparking tension that grows between them becomes impossible for Ivy to deny. Deep down, she wants… she needs more than what her duty demands of her, what her past has shaped for her.

But as Ivy grows closer to Ren, she realizes she’s not the only one carrying secrets that could shatter the frail bond between them. There’s something he’s not telling her, and one thing is for certain. She’s no longer sure what is more dangerous to her—the ancient beings threatening to take over the town or the man demanding to lay claim to her heart and her soul.


Review:

Jennifer L. Armentrout, you have left me speechless and in total shock after reading Wicked! I first loved how you wrote about aliens (Daemon), demigods and even made gargoyles hot! In her new series of Fae, it was even better! Any paranormal book I have adored has been written by this fantastic author. Even before this book was out it was on my auto-buy list because its Jennifer L. Armentrout. I pretty much devoured Wicked from the first page, because when I was reading it, you can imagine where you are in New Orleans (which is now on my travel list!). + REN :) 

Ivy has to be one of my favorite characters because she was badass and funny! She has had a tramatic past that has been very influenced who she is. She is also very independent and doesn't rely on anyone to help her. Ivy is also part of The Order who hunt down the bad guys, but also enter The Elite. Then enter Ren, who knows how to charm and swoon you off your feet. I know I feel in love with him (I still love Aiden and Daemon but he is up there as well). I am very excited to see what Jen has in store for these two in the next book, Torn. Especially after those* scenes!

Wicked is definitely a book to be added on your to-be read list! I loved reading every second of it because it always kept me guessing! Especially by that ending!! I have a lot of Jen's books and like any of her others it left me wanting more of the story. Wicked was full of heart melting romances, really awesome characters (Tink who is hilarious). This book is one everyone needs to buy! JLA knows how to give you a book hangover!


5/5

Sunday, January 11, 2015

Red Queen (Red Queen Trilogy #1) by Victoria Aveyard

Title: Red Queen (Red Queen Trilogy #1)
Author: Victoria Aveyard
Pages: 400
Genre: Fantasy
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: Feburary 10, 2015
Buy: Amazon| Kobo| B&N| Chapters Indigo

Summary (Goodreads)

Graceling meets The Selection in debut novelist Victoria Aveyard's sweeping tale of seventeen-year-old Mare, a common girl whose once-latent magical power draws her into the dangerous intrigue of the king's palace. Will her power save her or condemn her?

Mare Barrow's world is divided by blood--those with common, Red blood serve the Silver- blooded elite, who are gifted with superhuman abilities. Mare is a Red, scraping by as a thief in a poor, rural village, until a twist of fate throws her in front of the Silver court. Before the king, princes, and all the nobles, she discovers she has an ability of her own.

To cover up this impossibility, the king forces her to play the role of a lost Silver princess and betroths her to one of his own sons. As Mare is drawn further into the Silver world, she risks everything and uses her new position to help the Scarlet Guard--a growing Red rebellion--even as her heart tugs her in an impossible direction. One wrong move can lead to her death, but in the dangerous game she plays, the only certainty is betrayal.

Review: 

I can't believe how amazing this book was!! This  amazing book needs to be on everyone's shelf! My mind is still hung over with all the plot twists and everything! Victoria Aveyard you have created this fantastic world building and characters that you will love.I am literally shocked after reading it! When you start reading this book you don't know if it is going to be dystopian or high fantasy, but it was both! Red Queen is one book you want to add to your lists, it was dangerous, thrilling and exciting!!This has been one of my favorite books of this year!

Mare Barrow is a 17-year old Red girl from The Stilts where the Reds are the commoners, living under the rule of the Silvers, who are the elite warriors with god-like powers.  As she determines her identity as a Red, she is also a thief from a large family trying to survive in this world and where her life has no value. If she doesn't find a job, she must go to war-over land, where she will serve as a cannon fodder while real warriors go. It was so easy to get sucked into this world and the descriptions and dialogues of the characters.  Mare's point of view was beautiful and you can feel her emotions. You can imagine this world and the places which is amazing.

The plot is intriguing and full of mystery of the royal family, forbidden love and action! Victoria Aveyard's debut has such strong writing that you want to have it on the shelf. Each character has a key role in the novel. We get to see a side of Mare that she doesn't even know herself. The other characters make the story for Mare to shine through the book. Cal is evidence that not all the Silvers are stuck up but some characters did drive me crazy. The romance was little but it had a ton of action because of that love triangle !The villains were conniving and brilliant because the scheming and planning where nothing I was expecting. I was shocked! It was full of betrayal and trust. 

Red Queen is for sure 5 stars, because I really loved the story, was shocked, and it also messed in my head! I am very excited to see what is in store for the next book because of ending. I wish I had the next book! Red Queen is one of my favorites of this year and with all the emotions and the crazy plot. Overall, really loved it, fantasy world building was amazing that you will be getting a book hangover after reading it! 


5/5

Wednesday, January 7, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

Title: An Ember in the Ashes
Author: Sabaa Tahir
Pages: 464
Genre: Fantasy (YA)
Publisher: Razorbill/Penguin Canada
Release Date: April 28, 2015

Summary: (Goodreads)

Set in a terrifyingly brutal Rome-like world, An Ember in the Ashes is an epic fantasy debut about an orphan fighting for her family and a soldier fighting for his freedom. It’s a story that’s literally burning to be told.

LAIA is a Scholar living under the iron-fisted rule of the Martial Empire. When her brother is arrested for treason, Laia goes undercover as a slave at the empire’s greatest military academy in exchange for assistance from rebel Scholars who claim that they will help to save her brother from execution.

ELIAS is the academy’s finest soldier—and secretly, its most unwilling. Elias is considering deserting the military, but before he can, he’s ordered to participate in a ruthless contest to choose the next Martial emperor.

When Laia and Elias’s paths cross at the academy, they find that their destinies are more intertwined than either could have imagined and that their choices will change the future of the empire itself.
 


I NEED THIS BOOK!! Sounds really awesome!

Saturday, January 3, 2015

Happy New Year!!!


I hope everyone had a great new year with family and friends. Hope that everyone is safe and healthy!! As 2014 has now passed 2015 is going to be even better for us book lovers since there are so many coming out in the next few months! There are many goals I want to set up for this year which is to try and focus on school, at the same time also focus on my blog. My school schedule is going to be a little busy this semester so I am not guaranteeing that I will make them all.

Goals:

  • Read 100 books 
  • Lose 20 pounds (2 pounds a week)
  • Eat healthier 
  • Post at least 2 reviews a week
  • Try to post everyday (if I can)
  • Be Me!


Wednesday, December 31, 2014

My Top Reads of 2014

In no particular order here are some of my favorite books of the year! I have read over 85 books this year so it was a little hard picking them because I did read books that come out next year. Let me know what you think!














2014 has been a great year because I have meet so many new friends and authors! I am excited to see what next year has in store for me! Thanks everyone who has followed my blog !!!

Tuesday, December 30, 2014

Frigid by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: Frigid
Author: J. Lynn (Jennifer L. Armentrout)
Pages: 240
Publisher: Spencer Hill Contemporary
Release Date: July 15, 2013(e-book) /November 5(print)
Genre: New Adult
Read: July 25, 2012

Buy: Amazon| Kobo| Book Depository|

Summary: (Goodreads)

For twenty-one-year-old Sydney, being in love with Kyler isn't anything new. They'd been best friends ever since he pushed her down on the playground and she made him eat a mud pie. Somewhere over the years, she fell for him and fell hard. The big problem with that? Kyler puts the 'man' in man-whore. He's never stayed with a girl longer than a few nights, and with it being their last year in college, Syd doesn't want to risk their friendship by declaring her love. 

Kyler has always put Syd on a pedestal that was too high for him to reach. To him, she's perfect and she's everything. But the feelings he has for her, he's always hidden away or focused on any other female. After all, Kyler will always be the poor boy from the wrong side of tracks, and Syd will always be the one girl he can never have. 

But when they're stranded together at a posh ski resort due to a massive Nor'easter, there's nothing stopping their red-hot feelings for each other from coming to the surface. Can their friendship survive the attraction? Better yet, can they survive at all? Because as the snow falls, someone is stalking them, and this ski trip may be a life-changer in more ways than one.


Review:


Ahh I love Kyler !!! Jennifer you are an amazing author! While reading I was immediately was hooked to both the characters and the plot. What I liked most about Frigid was the characters and the love story between friends. In this New Adult novel by Jennifer she make it steamy and worth the read! When I read this book I knew I was going to love Kyler! This book has to be on your shelf!


Let's start off with getting to know Kyler, he is a player but he likes to protect and watch over Syd. You can see from the beginning that he has feelings for her but parts of him feel like she deserves better than him. Kyler is one cute character who tries to be honest with the girls he is with but doesn't remember the girl who climbs into his lap. He is totally a player, but he has this charm and sweetness only for Syd. He can also become really jealous if any guy talks to her, or can tell if a guy like her or not. Any guy who is interested in Syd he considers them a douche and is not the right person for Syd. Plus it's set during Christmas Eve, and they are snowed in together! 

Sydney has always loved Kyler, and has hidden her feeling from him for the fear of maybe losing him and their friendship. Sydney's past boyfriend was such a jerk that Kyler then wanted to hit him, it left Sydney to not date anyone. It is very interesting to see how well Sydney and Kyler really do fit in each other's life because in some way they are both determined to be a part of each other's lives, even if she cannot have him. The title of the book Frigid does play an interesting part in the book, but it made you want to read more and more of the story. 

I wish I could give more stars to this book because of how much I loved it, JLA out did herself on this one and is a very close to Wait for You! The relationship of the characters were beautiful and HOT! If you are in a YA Romance contemporary mood add this book to your shopping cart because it also looks great on the shelf! Jennifer L. Armentrout's writing is pure addicting!! 

5/5

Saturday, December 27, 2014

Since You've Been Gone by Morgan Matson

Title: Since You've Been Gone
Author: Morgan Matson
Pages: 449
Genre: YA
Publisher: Simon & Schuster/ Simon Pulse
Release Date: May 6, 2014
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo| B&N
*received for review by Simon Schuster Canada*

Summary: (Goodreads)

The Pre-Sloane Emily didn't go to parties, she barely talked to guys, she didn't do anything crazy. Enter Sloane, social tornado and the best kind of best friend—the one who yanks you out of your shell.But right before what should have been an epic summer, Sloane just... disappears. No note. No calls. No texts. No Sloane. There’s just a random to-do list. On it, thirteen Sloane-selected-definitely-bizarre-tasks that Emily would never try... unless they could lead back to her best friend. Apple Picking at Night? Ok, easy enough.Dance until Dawn? Sure. Why not? Kiss a Stranger? Wait... what?

Getting through Sloane’s list would mean a lot of firsts. But Emily has this whole unexpected summer ahead of her, and the help of Frank Porter (totally unexpected) to check things off. Who knows what she’ll find?

Go Skinny Dipping? Um...

Review:

If you are a fan of Jessi Kirby be sure to read any of Morgan Matson's books!! Since You've Been Gone has to be a perfect mixture of friendship, romance and learning about your identity. These are some of the reasons why this is definitely another favorite contemporary reads of this year. I loved Second Chance Summer because her characters feel so real and connect with with what they are going through. Matson writes so strongly that the story will instantly pull you in and with her new release about friendship. 

Emily is shy, and nervous around boys when we first meet her in the beginning. When Sloane left without telling Emily, she leaves her with a list that Emily must complete that are out of her comfort zone that she must force to challenge in her life. They force her to face head on and also to grow. That is one of the reasons why I loved this book so much because it's about personal growth and how to improve on what you want to change. Emily also had a little help with the list with Frank Porter. 


The romance was so sweet and adorable! Frank is also dorky and sweet that once you put him and Emily together they were hilarious! He liked to push her out of her box, but was also there to support her when she needed the help. All the other supporting characters were great because you got to see Emily experiencing new friendships. Her family is also very quirky because they are writers but I thought they were fun parents who supported their daughter. You also get to see her friendship with Sloane also grow when flashbacks of the past came but it also helped her grow into the person she is by the end.


Since You've Been Gone was a great read! Morgan Matson has become one of my favorite YA contemporary writers because she makes it worth reading since it is addicting how fast you can read it. The book is about friendship, growing up and changes that can happen to anyone. It will make you laugh and cry that you will fall in love with the story! Can't wait to read what Matson writes next!!

5/5 

Tuesday, December 23, 2014

Inspire (The Muse #1) by Cora Carmack (Blog Tour +Guest Post)

Title: Inspire (Muse #1) 
Author: Cora Carmack
Pages: 284
Genre: New Adult/Paranormal
Release Date: December 15, 2014
Buy: Amazon| Kobo

Summary (Goodreads)


Kalliope lives with one purpose.

To inspire.

As an immortal muse, she doesn’t have any other choice. It’s part of how she was made. Musicians, artists, actors—they use her to advance their art, and she uses them to survive. She moves from one artist to the next, never staying long enough to get attached. But all she wants is a different life— a normal one. She’s spent thousands of years living lie after lie, and now she’s ready for something real.

Sweet, sexy, and steady, Wilder Bell feels more real than anything else in her long existence. And most importantly… he’s not an artist. He doesn’t want her for her ability. But she can’t turn off the way she influences people, not even to save a man she might love. Because in small doses, she can help make something beautiful, but her ability has just as much capacity to destroy as it does to create. The longer she stays, the more obsessed Wilder will become. It’s happened before, and it never turns out well for the mortal.

Her presence may inspire genius.

But it breeds madness, too.


Review: 

Cora Carmack, Inspire has given me all the feels! When I first heard about the series coming out and the unique plot line that it had I knew I was going to love it (since I love her other books). Add this book immediately on your to be read piles because it is totally worth the read, I could not put this book down. It will leave you speechless and wanting more! 

Kalli, is an immortal Muse who spends her life from artist to artist, with not getting attached to any of them. It hard not to like Kalli because being inside her  head makes you feel like she is making a lot of mistakes and doesn't care who she hurts. But you can see her struggle as part of the story. Wilder Bell is starting a new life, going to college and working to be able to get to his goal for his little sister Gwen. Wilder is on my list of Book Boyfriends since he is tattooed, talented and sexy! I just loved him! Their attraction was just electric that you can devour these pages. Got all fuzzy in from all those scenes!


The secondary characters were very well developed and added great scenes to the story. Kalli's friend Lennox, Wilder's friend Rook who is another very interesting character and his mother who is very protective of him. Gwen was very adorable and added the lighter side to the story, that can make you life when you read it! It was so diverse that Cora knows how to create!

I am going to be very excited to read the second book because now I need it after finishing Inspire. I need more Kalli and Wilder right about now since that ending!! Go add this book to your e-reader right now!!


About Cora Carmack:
Cora Carmack is a twenty-something writer who likes to write about twenty-something characters. She's done a multitude of things in her life-- boring jobs (like working retail), Fun jobs (like working in a theatre), stressful jobs (like teaching), and dream jobs (like writing). She enjoys placing her characters in the most awkward situations possible, and then trying to help them get a boyfriend out of it. Awkward people need love, too. Her first book, LOSING IT, was a New York Times and USA Today bestseller.
GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway



GUEST POST
So, I love Greek mythology. I was fascinated by it when I was younger. It was my favorite thing to teach when I taught high school (for a whopping two years). But it is SERIOUSLY messed up. In writing INSPIRE, I had tons of information about Greek mythology in my head already. I did even more research. Then I just kind of let all that go and wrote my story. I didn’t want to be hemmed in by following myths exactly as they had been told. For one, many of the myths are obscure and unclear and have multiple versions. That’s what comes from being passed down through generations by word of mouth. Stuff gets changed and forgotten. So I merely used the myths as a starting point, and then created a world and a character of my own in Kalliope.

All that being said… Greek mythology is just too much fun to not talk about. So, lets talk about some of the weirder aspects and myths from those crazy Greeks.

Medusa had snakes for hair.

Aside from the fact that she could turn people into stone by looking them in the eye (which I’m sure made dating a nightmare), let’s just think about how impractical this must have been.  Did she have to feed the snakes? If so, where did the snake's, erm, waste go? Did Medusa just have snakes pooping on her head all the time? And you know how cats will try and wake you up when they're hungry - did the snakes do that too? What about when they shed their skin? I just have so many questions about the logistics.

Cronus ate his own children.

So Cronus heard a prophecy that one of his children would usurp his throne, and to prevent this from happening….he ate all of his children. Because that’s totally a rational response. I mean, I can kind of understand being afraid that one of your kids will overthrow you, but resorting to cannibalism to prevent it is a little extreme. What baffles me even more, though, is how Zeus survived - his mother delivered him in secret and then gave Cronus a rock wrapped in baby clothes. And Cronus ate it and DIDN’T REALIZE IT WAS A ROCK INSTEAD OF A BABY.  Dude.

Medea gave really terrible wedding gifts.

Medea did a lot of pretty messed up stuff, mostly because she was in love with Jason. But then Jason left her for another woman, and you better believe that shit hit the fan. In classic mean girl fashion, Medea acted all friendly to Glauce (Jason’s new side chick) and gave her a really gorgeous dress and coronet to wear for her upcoming wedding. But surprise! They were covered in poison, and when Glauce put them on, she spontaneously burst into flames. Medea then killed her own children to REALLY piss off Jason, and then rode off in a dragon-drawn chariot, probably flipping everyone off while the song “Boss Ass Bitch” blasted in the background.

Zeus had a longer list of ex-lovers than Taylor Swift (not that I don’t love me some Tay-Tay).

(Take a second and think of the song Blank Space being sung by the King of the Gods and let me know if you laugh as hard as I did.)
Zeus was, for lack of a better word, a manwhore. Everyone called him Father, and most of them were correct - Zeus was everyone’s baby daddy and he didn’t care who knew it. It didn’t matter if you were immortal or not; if Zeus wanted to sleep with you, he was gonna sleep with you, even if he had to take the form of an animal to do it. What an asshole.


There’s something called a “hippalectryon.”

And it’s half horse, half rooster. To me, this looks like a freakier version of Buckbeak the Hippogriff from Harry Potter, and I just cannot even.


Only in Greek Mythology can you be a place AND a person!
Tartarus is a place. The darkest, deepest pit of the Underworld. Hell if you will. But somehow… Gaia (who was the Earth. Literally. But also the Father of the Titans) manages to make a child with Tartarus. That child is the monsters of all monsters, the Typhon, who among other things, had dragon heads for fingers.

Aphrodite, goddess of love, came from testicles 
I’m not even joking. I wish I were. Cronus (we’ve already discussed how cray-cray he was) is jealous of his father Gaius and his power. And his mother, angry with her husband for imprisoning some of her more monster-ish children, convinces Cronus to attack and castrate his father. Cronus then throws his father’s junk in the ocean. The sea foams up and out pops Aphrodite. I’m just gonna let that sink in for a bit.

In Greek Mythology, you don’t have to be born from a mother’s womb

Nope. Not even close. Adonis was born from a tree! That tree used to be his mother, who slept with her own father. But that’s another story. TREE!

Athena was born from papa Zeus’s head. Just sprung up right from his skull. And you thought the birth of baby Renesmee was creepy. IMAGINE THAT. *shudders*
  
Why be born once when you can be born three times?

So the myths on this are contradictory and a little unclear. But there was this dude Dionysus. God of Wine (and Theatre!). Imagine the festival at Woodstock in human form and you’ve got Dionysus. Dude was a little wild. He had an affair with Persephone, and when Hades found out, he was naturally angry at his wife’s unfaithfulness. He had the titans tear Dionysus into pieces and eat them (why all the eating? Gah). But tricky Persephone managed to save his heart and gave it to Dionysus’s father Zeus, who then slept with a mortal woman named Semele and somehow impregnated her with said heart. Who knows? Then Zeus’s wife Hera found out. And as always, she was angry and decided to get her revenge. She befriended Semele and convinced her to ask Zeus to reveal himself in full god form to her. When he did so, the sight of Zeus was too much for her and she literally burst into flames. Before she died though, Zeus took Dionysus from her womb (that’s birth #2!). Then just in case little baby D wasn’t done baking yet, he sowed the child up in his own thigh until the child was healthy enough to be birthed for a third time. FROM A THIGH.


Helen of Troy, the face that launched a thousand ships, was hatched. Not born.


Again, there’s some dissent here about exact lineage. Zeus might have changed into the form of a swan and impregnated the woman Leda. Because that makes sense. Story goes that she was just chilling naked by the lake, like you do. She sees an eagle chasing a swan (that’s Zeus) who leaps into her arms to get away. And somehow the sex just happens.*GIANT SHRUG* OR… in another version, Zeus might have impregnated the goddess Nemesis while she was in goose form. Because sometimes you just feel like being a goose. Either way… the woman often hailed as the most beautiful in all of Greece came from an egg.


Most of that was probably a lot more than you wanted to know. But I just find it so hilarious the ways in which modern society has romanticized the Greek gods as these ethereal figures. I’m guilty of it, too! When in reality, their lives and stories were FAR from pretty. But let’s all just agree to go back to pretending like we don’t know any of the information above.

Okay? Okay.

P.S. I promise there is no eating of people, mystifying births, or castration of any kind in INSPIRE. You have my word.



Tuesday, December 16, 2014

Most Anticipated Books of 2015: Part Two!

MOST ANTICIPATED:

Check out  PART ONE

7. Red Queen (Red Queen #1) by Victoria Aveyard


Thoughts:
Pre-order this book immediately!! This book will blow your socks off, because the plot and the characters hook you into this incredible world of power and blood. I am already craving the next book in the series! Definitely add this book to your lists because you will have a book hangover. (Already read this)

8.  An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir 


Thoughts 

I need this book right now! Been hearing amazing things about the entire book that I know it will be a hit in 2015 since it has been on many lists! It's set in a terrifyingly brutal Rome-like world which sounds like my kind of book! Even the cover attracts the reader!! I really wish this title was available!! 

9. The Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows 

*GRABBY HANDS*
I need this book!!! Jodi Meadows writes another amazing world with her next series based on a girl named Wilhelmina. I really love the cover too! "Jodi Meadows introduces a vivid new fantasy full of intrigue, romance, dangerous magic, and one girl’s battle to reclaim her place in the world."

10. The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall 


I just want to read this one soo badly!! Look at the cover!


11.  The Return (Titan #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout


I just loved Seth in the Covenant series to its natural for me to want this book since I loved that series so much! Jennifer L. Armentrout is my favorite author and I own all of her books so this one is a guaranteed pre-order! If you haven't read the Covenant series I recommend you do immediately!


12. All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven 


 This sounds amazing!! The summary says it a cross between The Fault in Our Stars and Eleanor & Park which means its going to be a good contemporary read for the new year! Its a good thing it comes out on January 6! 

Wednesday, December 10, 2014

Pre-Order- Verum by Courtney Cole

VERUM-PreorderDrive-Graphic

You loved Courtney Cole's NOCTE in all it's dark, twisted, spellbinding, messed-up awesomeness. You can't wait until VERUM (Nocte Trilogy Book 2) releases in February 2015. And now Courtney Cole is going to release an exclusive VERUM excerpt...but only if we can get it to the top 1000 on Amazon!

All you have to do is go to Amazon and pre-order VERUM right now. Go, pre-order, and get all your NOCTE-obsessed friends to pre-order, too. If enough people do it, VERUM will climb up the ranks, and we'll get a sneak peek at the follow-up to what's being called "a haunting psychological suspense" and "the rare kind of story that leaves permanent marks on your heart and your soul."


About NOCTE

NOCTE-300pxSAVE ME AND I'LL SAVE YOU....

My name is Calla Price. I’m eighteen years old, and I’m one half of a whole. My other half-- my twin brother, my Finn--is crazy.

I love him. More than life, more than anything. And even though I’m terrified he’ll suck me down with him, no one can save him but me.

I’m doing all I can to stay afloat in a sea of insanity, but I’m drowning more and more each day. So I reach out for a lifeline.

Dare DuBray.

He’s my savior and my anti-Christ. His arms are where I feel safe, where I’m afraid, where I belong, where I’m lost. He will heal me, break me, love me and hate me. He has the power to destroy me.

Maybe that’s ok. Because I can’t seem to save Finn and love Dare without everyone getting hurt.

Why? Because of a secret.

A secret I’m so busy trying to figure out, that I never see it coming.

You won’t either.


About VERUM

VERUM-300pxTHE TRUTH SHALL SET YOU FREE.

My name is Calla Price and I'm drowning.

My new world is a dark, dark ocean and I'm being pulled under by secrets.

Can I trust anyone? I don't know anymore.

The lies are spirals. They twist and turn, binding me with their thorns and serpentine tongues. And just when I think I have it figured out, everything is pulled out from under me.

I'm entangled in the darkness.

But the truth will set me free.

It's just ahead of me, so close I can touch it. But even though it shines and glimmers, it has glistening fangs and I know it will shred me.

Are you scared?

I am.