AUTHORS+ PUBLISHER: I AM CELEBRATING 1600 FOLLOWERS, IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO DONATE PRIZES EMAIL ME HERE--> amandapedulla21@hotmail.com THANK YOU

Monday, September 15, 2014

Cover Reveal: Wicked (A Wicked Saga #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Holy cow, y'all! We are so excited to bring you the Cover Reveal for Jennifer L. Armentrout's WICKED! WICKED is a New Adult Paranormal Romance and is a part of Jennifer L. Armentrout’s Wicked Trilogy. It is being released on December 8th, 2014. So make sure you pre-order it today!!

Wicked
 

Amazon

WICKED Synopsis:
Things are about to get Wicked in New Orleans. Twenty-two year old Ivy Morgan isn’t your average college student. She, and others like her, know humans aren’t the only thing trolling the French Quarter for fun… and for food. Her duty to the Order is her life. After all, four years ago, she lost everything at the hands of the creatures she’d sworn to hunt, tearing her world and her heart apart. Ren Owens is the last person Ivy expected to enter her rigidly controlled life. He’s six feet and three inches of temptation and swoon-inducing charm. With forest-green eyes and a smile that’s surely left a stream of broken hearts in its wake, he has an uncanny, almost unnatural ability to make her yearn for everything he has to offer. But letting him in is as dangerous as hunting the cold-blooded killers stalking the streets. Losing the boy she loved once before had nearly destroyed her, but the sparking tension that grows between them becomes impossible for Ivy to deny. Deep down, she wants… she needs more than what her duty demands of her, what her past has shaped for her. But as Ivy grows closer to Ren, she realizes she’s not the only one carrying secrets that could shatter the frail bond between them. There’s something he’s not telling her, and one thing is for certain. She’s no longer sure what is more dangerous to her—the ancient beings threatening to take over the town or the man demanding to lay claim to her heart and her soul.


About Jennifer L. Armentrout: # 1 NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY Bestselling author Jennifer lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing. she spends her time reading, working out, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell Loki. Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen. Her book Obsidian has been optioned for a major motion picture and her Covenant Series has been optioned for TV. She also writes adult and New Adult romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.  

Wednesday, September 10, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday: Love and Other Theories by Alexis Bass

Title: Love and Other Theories 
Author: Alexis Bass
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: December 31, 2014

Summary: (Goodreads)

If you want more, you have to give less.

That’s the secret to dating in high school. By giving as little as they expect to get in return, seventeen-year-old Aubrey Housing and her three best friends have made it to the second semester of their senior year heartbreak-free. And it’s all thanks to a few simple rules: don’t commit, don’t be needy, and don’t give away your heart.

So when smoking-hot Nathan Diggs transfers to Lincoln High, it shouldn’t be a big deal. At least that’s what Aubrey tells herself. But Nathan’s new-boy charm, his kindness, and his disarming honesty throw Aubrey off her game and put her in danger of breaking the most important rule of all: Don’t fall in love.


Thursday, August 28, 2014

Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass #3) by Sarah J. Maas

Title: Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass #3)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Pages: 565
Genre: YA, Fantasy
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA/ RazorbillCA
Release Date: September 2, 2014

Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo| B&N

Summary (Goodreads)

Lost and broken, Celaena Sardothien’s only thought is to avenge the savage death of her dearest friend: as the King of Adarlan’s Assassin, she is bound to serve this tyrant, but he will pay for what he did. Any hope Celaena has of destroying the king lies in answers to be found in Wendlyn. Sacrificing his future, Chaol, the Captain of the King’s Guard, has sent Celaena there to protect her, but her darkest demons lay in that same place. If she can overcome them, she will be Adarlan’s biggest threat – and his own toughest enemy. 

While Celaena learns of her true destiny, and the eyes of Erilea are on Wendlyn, a brutal and beastly force is preparing to take to the skies. Will Celaena find the strength not only to win her own battles, but to fight a war that could pit her loyalties to her own people against those she has grown to love?


Review: 

Sarah J. Maas is the Queen of YA Fantasy with her amazing series, Throne of Glass. Here I thought the Crown of Midnight was the best, but here comes Heir of Fire which blew it away!! It picks up a few months after Celaena leaves after the death of her dear friend. If you haven't read this series, read it right away! It's definitely addicting. Sarah's world building is so detailed and rich that its one of the reasons it took me a while to finish.

After waiting a year for Heir of Fire after that amazing ending of Crown of Midnight. There were so many feels throughout the book and while it was a little slow in the beginning it would begin to go so fast that I did not realize I was almost done the book. Celaena's situation definitely get more complicated but it is understandable with her past. It got darker, but with Celaena's past coming back to haunt her as well as to help with the future and promise to Nehemia. Loved seeing Chaol (since I am rooting for him still (while now pining for Rowan) 

Maas definitely upped the magic for sure! There was surprises, new characters and more of her past that is revealed. Celaena is definitely one of my favorite characters because she also learns that she has magic. So she goes to her fey aunt, but there is a catch, she must train with Rowan to help with her magic. Rowan is very hot, smart and a warrior. He is the perfect to help train Celaena because they are very alike when they have a dream. Secrets of his pasts are also revealed but you will understand why he did them. 

Back at the Glass palace, Chaol and Dorian are dealing with the King of Adarlan, figuring out his plans. Chaol is looking into why magic disappeared from the kingdom and who he trusts. He deals with his last few days with Celaena from Crown of Midnight. His friendship with Dorian has been strained. Dorian, I felt was more left out in the beginning but he begins a new relationship with his own powers and who he trusts. Heir of Fire will make you want to read the next book (hopefully soon). Manon is a character who is feisty and her point of view gives insight of what is happening on both fronts of the book. She is an evil character but her history is interesting. I can see her playing a major role in the next book. 


I loved Heir of Fire soo much that I am so excited for the next book! Need it right now especially after that ending! This installment of this amazing series will not disappoint you since Maas knows how to hook you into her books! It is the perfect fantasy for people who love strong heroines. Read this series, you will not be disappointed! 


5/5

Thursday, August 21, 2014

The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey Giveaway!!!

The riveting follow-up to the New York Times bestselling The 5th Wave, hailed by Justin Cronin as “wildly entertaining.”

How do you rid the Earth of seven billion humans? Rid the humans of their humanity.

Surviving the first four waves was nearly impossible. Now Cassie Sullivan finds herself in a new world, a world in which the fundamental trust that binds us together is gone. As the 5th Wave rolls across the landscape, Cassie, Ben, and Ringer are forced to confront the Others’ ultimate goal: the extermination of the human race.

Cassie and her friends haven’t seen the depths to which the Others will sink, nor have the Others seen the heights to which humanity will rise, in the ultimate battle between life and death, hope and despair, love and hate

OUT SEPTEMBER 16, 2014

TThe 5th Wave Trailer:


SNEAK AT THE INFINITE SEA

  
  J
Answers theses 3 Questions in the Rafflecoper form!

What 3 books would you want to bring in the event of an apocalypse?
· What 5 items would you like to have in the event of an apocalypse?
· What is your favorite quote from THE 5TH WAVE?
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, August 20, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Title: Red Queen 
Author: Victoria Aveyard 
Pages: 320
Genre: Fantasy/YA
Publisher: HarperCollins/ HarperTeen 
Release Date: February 10, 2015

Summary: (Goodreads) 

Mare Barrow's world is divided by blood—those with red and those with silver. Mare and her family are lowly Reds, destined to serve the Silver elite whose supernatural abilities make them nearly gods. Mare steals what she can to help her family survive, but when her best friend is conscripted into the army she gambles everything to win his freedom. A twist of fate leads her to the royal palace itself, where, in front of the king and all his nobles, she discovers a power of her own—an ability she didn't know she had. Except . . . her blood is Red.

To hide this impossibility, the king forces her into the role of a lost Silver princess and betroths her to one of his own sons. As Mare is drawn further into the Silver world, she risks her new position to aid the Scarlet Guard—the leaders of a Red rebellion. Her actions put into motion a deadly and violent dance, pitting prince against prince—and Mare against her own heart.

From debut author Victoria Aveyard comes a lush, vivid fantasy series where loyalty and desire can tear you apart and the only certainty is betrayal.

I KNOW I REALLY WANT TO READ THIS!!! *good thing I have an ARC of it (Thanks Edelweiss)*


Saturday, August 16, 2014

Opposition (Lux #5) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: Opposition (Lux #5)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Pages: 500
Genre: YA/Sci-Fi
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Release Date: August 5, 2014
Buy: Amazon| Kobo| Chapters Indigo| B&N| Book Depo

Summary: (Goodreads)

Katy knows the world changed the night the Luxen came.

She can't believe Daemon welcomed his race or stood by as his kind threatened to obliterate every last human and hybrid on Earth. But the lines between good and bad have blurred, and love has become an emotion that could destroy her—could destroy them all.

Daemon will do anything to save those he loves, even if it means betrayal.

They must team with an unlikely enemy if there is any chance of surviving the invasion. But when it quickly becomes impossible to tell friend from foe, and the world is crumbling around them, they may lose everything— even what they cherish most—to ensure the survival of their friends…and mankind.

War has come to Earth. And no matter the outcome, the future will never be the same for those left standing.


Review:

What a perfect end to one of my favorite series by my favorite author. It was amazing as always, and I was instantly hooked! While I am sad that the series is over, it will always be one of my favorites. I was either laughing and crying, hoping it would never end. From the day Obsidian came out to today when the series finished it will be forever memorable at how much one author can get you addicted to her novels. Its sad to say goodbye to these characters, but it has been an awesome to get to know them. As always JLA has a great sense of humor when she writes! There was action, suspense and so much drama! It was very hard to put this book down (know I am since I am a huge fan of her books).

Katy at the beginning of the series was strong, lovable, who has all warmed into our hearts as a lot of us who can relate to her (except that she has Daemon) She has certainly grown stronger, and will do anything to be with Daemon despite being tied with him but love does that. My heart was literally pounding throughout some scenes because you never know what will happen between Katy and Daemon! It certainly was a roller coaster of emotions about why the Luxen have come to earth. It was great to see Luc, Archer, Dee, Dawson and Beth.

My love fore Daemon will never end because he is still funny, arrogant and charming because in Opposition you get to see the love he has for Katy is never ending and he learns the truth about his race that can change his opinion of his life. Their relationship is stronger than ever! It was emotional and perfect as they still have that same conversations from the first book (the humor). The romance was HOT too! JLA knows how to balance it with romance and action that you get happy thoughts thinking about it. I just love Daemon and Katy throughout the entire book!

Overall, this book was AMAZING, the ending was perfect. I am sad that it is over but it will still continue because I will always re-read her books. Thank you Jen for creating this series because now many people are now hooked to your amazing books!! Looking forward to many more books by you! *already having a JLA withdrawal!* This is definitely one series you need to read!!

5/5

Thursday, August 14, 2014

How Do You Know What Book To Read Next?


After finishing a book at 3am, trying to figure out what to read next is the hardest thing to do. This is because there are so many books coming out or on your TBR list. Bloggers always have to make a hard decision of what will our next book be? Is it based on blog tours? Reviewing? or just for fun? 

When I choose what to read next, I mostly look at what genre I am interested at the moment. Between Paranormal, Sci-Fi, Contemporary, Dystopian and many more in the Teen area, fiction and even the romance sections at your local bookstore. I suggest making a wishlist. Wishlists are the best because you can also see if your store has that one book you are waiting for. Its a good thing Chapters Indigo has an App for my phone because I would be lost without it. Back to what I would read next after reading a contemporary which would probably be a romance or a paranormal book to balance out the genres and keeps your readers interested in what you recommend. 

I do suggest.... How to Love and The Secret of Ella and Micha. If you like contemporary and romance these two are perfect to read back to back if you are in a good mood to read about teens experiencing different things happening in their life.

Some of my favorite Paranormal or Sci-fi would even go together! For example any of Jennifer L. Armentrout's books since she has many genre's to choose from. She writes NA, romance, Teen and even paranormal. Sarah J. Maas is a great fantasy writer and both of these authors are great at hooking you in to their stories of great lead characters. 

In my opinion I would choose what book you most want to read and enjoy it! Its more fun to write about too! If you are on a deadline for reviewing the title, be sure to plan it ahead of time or write down the day you are to feature that book. 

What books would you recommend?

Check out what I recommend!! http://lovesbooksreviews.blogspot.com/p/recommendations-staff-picks.html






Wednesday, August 13, 2014

Waiting On Wednesday: Stay with Me (Wait for You #3) by J. Lynn (Jennifer L. Armentrout)

Title: Stay with Me (Wait For You #3)
Author: J. Lynn (Jennifer L. Armentrout)
Pages: 336
Genre: NA
Publisher: William Morrow/HarperCollins Canada
Release Date: September 23, 2014

Summary: (Goodreads)

At 21, Calla hasn’t done a lot of things. She’s never been kissed, never seen the ocean, never gone to an amusement park. But growing up, she witnessed some things no child ever should. She still carries the physical and emotional scars of living with a strung-out mother, Mona—secrets she keeps from everyone, including her close circle of college friends.

But the safe cocoon Calla has carefully built is shattered when she discovers her mom has stolen her college money and run up a huge credit card debt in her name. Now, Calla has to go back to the small town she thought she'd left behind and clean up her mom’s mess again. Of course, when she arrives at her mother’s bar, Mona is nowhere to be found. Instead, six feet of hotness named Jackson James is pouring drinks and keeping the place humming.

Sexy and intense, Jax is in Calla’s business from the moment they meet, giving her a job and helping her search for Mona. And the way he looks at her makes it clear he wants to get horizontal . . . and maybe something more. Before Calla can let him get close, though, she’s got to deal with the pain of the past—and some very bad guys out to mess her up if she doesn’t give them her mom.


Tuesday, August 12, 2014

Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

Title: Ugly Love
Author: Colleen Hoover
Pages: 336
Genre: New Adult/Fiction
Publisher: Atria Books/Simon Schuster Canada
Release Date: August 5, 2014
Buy: Amazon| Kobo| Chapters Indigo| B&N| SimonSchusterCA

Summary: (Goodreads)


When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she doesn't think it's love at first sight. They wouldn't even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn't want love, she doesn't have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her.

Never ask about the past. 
Don't expect a future.
  They think they can handle it, but realize almost immediately they can't handle it at all.

Hearts get infiltrated. 
Promises get broken. 
Rules get shattered.
Love gets ugly.




Review: 

I devoured this book is one day! Started last night and stayed up till 3am then finished it up this morning. I think this is another favorite added to my list because Colleen Hoover is a beautiful writer that will guarantee to make you cry (which I did through most of it). I loved the story of Tate and Miles. This book is definitely one to pick up! From beginning to end I knew that it would most likely bring me to tears since Colleen Hoover is good at playing with emotions. This is definitely different than anything she has written.  Her stories are definitely powerful at the ways she makes the connections with her characters.

Ugly Love was HOT, Heart-Wrentching and it was unique. It is not like any other story I have read and after I finished reading, I just wanted to re-read it. From the beginning I fell in love with the story and connected with it. The plot was very steady and its was easy to breeze through since it was addicting and made me not want to go to bed it was definitely an emotional rollercoaster. 


When we first meet Tate, she just arrives to move in with her brother to start school and get her masters degree, when she meets airline pilot Miles Archer (LOVE HIM) as he is passed out near her brothers apartment. She then learns a different side of him by the way he shows his pain and sadness. While she isn't looking for a serious relationship and Miles wants nothing to do with love, they do  have a strong attraction that is too hot to handle. They are drawn together to form a friends with benefits situation following Miles' two rules and keep distance between them. It became more complicated between their friendship and love began to seep in. Tate's flashbacks brought on what happened to him and in the present got to see him fall in love, but the pain of the past still haunts him and he forces himself that he does not deserve to love again. 


I really liked Miles as a character because he is smart, sexy, and a mystery that Tate has to put the puzzle pieces together. From his pain and not wanting to move on but he was struggling with his attachment to Tate. It felt read and I just feel like hugging him throughout the book, especially his point of view. It was told from both Miles and Tate's POVs  from the beginning of Tate to Mile's flashbacks six years earlier. It felt like two different stories and it joined near the end perfectly, while we got to see Mile's grow and his behaviour reflects both his past and future. 

While the author does not writes pages and pages of sex, her sex scenes and words keep the reader keep reading. The bold letters are very important during these scenes. It was also very steamy that were very consistent and the entire scenes were very intimate as well. (18+ for these scenes) It does reflect their complex love story. 

There was painful scenes and ugly times during their relationship but love is what brings people together and to heal. It was emotional and I still feel happy and satisfied with the entire book. Overall this has to be one of the best books Colleen Hoover has written since I was so immersed into the story and Ugly Love really lives up to its name. I totally wish I could give it more stars because it deserves it! The story is powerful and breathtaking.  Thank you Colleen Hoover for this amazing book and the words were beautiful + Lyrical! It will make you feel what they are feeling. It was a very emotional journey of this love story. Super excited to read the next book book!! *Hugs book*

5/5

Thursday, August 7, 2014

Upside Down (Off the Map #1) by Lia Riley Blog Tour

UPSIDE DOWN by Lia Riley (August 5, 2014; Forever E-Book; $3.99)
If You Never Get Lost, You'll Never Be FoundNatalia Stolfi is saying good-bye to the past-and turning her life upside down with a trip to Australia. Everything is going to plan until she meets a brooding surfer with hypnotic green eyes.

Bran Lockhart is having the worst year on record. Yet no amount of disappointment could blind him to the pretty California girl who gets past all his defenses. He's never wanted anyone the way he wants Talia. But when Bran gets a stark reminder of why he stopped believing in love, he and Talia must decide if what they have is once in a lifetime . . . of if they were meant to live a world apart.



Buy Links:

About the author: 
After studying at the University of Montana-Missoula, LIA RILEY scoured the world armed only with a backpack, overconfidence and a terrible sense of direction. When not torturing heroes (because c'mon, who doesn't love a good tortured hero?), Lia herds unruly chickens, camps, beach combs, daydreams about as-of-yet unwritten books, wades through a mile-high TBR pile and schemes yet another trip. She and her family live mostly in Northern California.

Social Media Links: Website |Facebook  | Twitter |Tumblr |Goodreads 

Review: 

I really liked this book! It had the perfect balance of love, romance and even a lot of issues that in New Adults face. The Australian setting made it feel like I was there. I did not put this book down at all, it was addicting and the characters were really well developed. The pace of the novel was good and lots of drama between Bran and Talia. Each of their pasts are the things that bring them together but Lia did a great job with them. 

Talia (Love her name) has suffered the terrible loss of losing her sister and her mother leaving the country. She tries to create a Talia 2.0 and try to be normal. You can see that it is very hard to keep this hiding from anybody since her vulnerability and mask are easy to see past of. She is very kind and wants to move on from her past without the guilt of what happened back home. 

Bran Lockhart is facing similar things that Talia is faced with but he is more closed off until the end. In the beginning doubts were crossing my mind if he was serious with trying to tell the truth. He did make some bad decisions and likes to live in the past, but he is a very likable character, and I am excited to see where it will lead him next. 

I loved how Talia and Bran met because it was in a way funny that he was in a costume. It is a complicated relationship but with Bran's past coming he kind of put Talia elsewhere in the back of his mind. They do have a strong connection which is easy to see. Overall it was a great novel and I am excited to see what Lia Riley will do in the next book! 

4/5

Tuesday, August 5, 2014

Opposition by Jennifer L. Armentrout - Release Day Launch

Opposition RDL Banner  

We are ridiculously excited to bring you the Release Day Launch for Jennifer L. Armentrout's OPPOSITION! OPPOSITION is a young adult Paranormal Romance being published by Entangled Teen and the fifth book in her LUX Series!

  Opposition Cover

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iTunes | IndieBound | Others via Entangled

About OPPOSITION: Katy knows the world changed the night the Luxen came. She can't believe Daemon welcomed his race or stood by as his kind threatened to obliterate every last human and hybrid on Earth. But the lines between good and bad have blurred, and love has become an emotion that could destroy her—could destroy them all. Daemon will do anything to save those he loves, even if it means betrayal. They must team with an unlikely enemy if there is any chance of surviving the invasion. But when it quickly becomes impossible to tell friend from foe, and the world is crumbling around them, they may lose everything— even what they cherish most—to ensure the survival of their friends…and mankind. War has come to Earth. And no matter the outcome, the future will never be the same for those left standing. EXCERPT: Katy I still stared at Daemon, completely aware that everyone else except him was watching me. Closely. But why wouldn’t he look at me? A razor-sharp panic clawed at my insides. No. Thiscouldn’t be happening. No way.My body was moving before I even knew what I was doing. From the corner of my eye, I saw Dee shake her head and one of the Luxen males step forward, but I was propelled by an inherent need to prove that my worst fears were not coming true. After all, he’d healed me, but then I thought of what Dee had said, of how Dee had behaved with me. What if Daemon was like her? Turned into something so foreign and cold? He would’ve healed me just to make sure he was okay. I still didn’t stop.
 Please, I thought over and over again. Please. Please. Please. On shaky legs, I crossed the long room, and even thoughDaemon hadn’t seemed to even acknowledge my existence, I walked right up to him, my hands trembling as I placed them on his chest. “Daemon?” I whispered, voice thick. His head whipped around, and he was suddenly staring down at me. Our gazes collided once more, and for a second I saw something so raw, so painful in those beautiful eyes. And then his large hands wrapped around my upper arms. The contact seared through the shirt I wore, branding my skin, and I thought—I expected—that he would pull me against him, that he would embrace me, and even though nothing would be all right, it would be better. Daemon’s hands spasmed around my arms, and I sucked in an unsteady breath. His eyes flashed an intense green as he physically lifted me away from him, setting me back down a good foot back. I stared at him, something deep in my chest cracking. “Daemon?” He said nothing as he let go, one finger at a time, it seemed, and his hands slid off my arms. He stepped back, returning his attention to the man behind the desk. “So . . . awkward,” murmured the redhead, smirking. I was rooted to the spot in which I stood, the sting of rejection burning through my skin, shredding my insides like I was nothing more than papier-mâché. “I think someone was expecting more of a reunion,” the Luxen male behind the desk said, his voice ringing with amusement. “What do you think, Daemon?” One shoulder rose in a negligent shrug. “I don’t think anything.” My mouth opened, but there were no words. His voice, his tone, wasn’t like his sister’s, but like it had been when we first met. He used to speak to me with barely leashed annoyance, where a thin veil of tolerance dripped from every word.The rift in my chest deepened.
For the hundredth time since the Luxen arrived, SergeantDasher’s warning came back to me. What side would Daemon and his family stand on? A shudder worked its way down my spine. I wrapped my arms around myself, unable to truly process what had just happened. “And you?” the man asked. When no one answered, he tried again. “Katy?” I was forced to look at him, and I wanted to shrink back from his stare. “What?” I was beyond caring that my voice broke on that one word. The man smiled as he walked around the desk. My gaze flickered over to Daemon as he shifted, drawing the attention of the beautiful redhead. “Were you expecting a more personal greeting?” he asked. “Perhaps something more intimate?” I had no idea how to answer. I felt like I’d fallen into the rabbit hole, and warnings were firing off left and right. Something primal inside me recognized that I was surrounded by predators. Don't miss the books that started it all... LUX Special edition cover  

LUX: BEGINNINGS...

&

LUX: CONSEQUENCES...

  Author PhotoAbout Jennifer L. Armentrout: # 1 NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY Bestselling author Jennifer lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing. she spends her time reading, working out, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell Loki. Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen. Her book Obsidian has been optioned for a major motion picture and her Covenant Series has been optioned for TV. She also writes adult and New Adult romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.

Website ** Twitter ** Facebook ** Author Goodreads ** OPPOSITION on Goodreads

LUX Giveaway
We will be giving away a Lux Series Basket with Lux themed jewelry, a signed set of the Lux Series and a $50 gift card to a retailer of the winner’s choice (Amazon, Barnes&Noble, or Indiebound).

Wednesday, July 30, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday: Charmed (The Witch Hunter #2) by Michelle Krys

Title: Charmed (The Witch Hunter #2)
Author: Michelle Krys
Pages: 368
Genre: YA
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Release Date: May 26, 2015

Summary: (Goodreads) 

Indie has spent the last few weeks frantically searching for Paige. She's tried every spell imaginable, but witchcraft has gotten her nowhere, and she's going crazy with guilt. Despite what her warlock boyfriend, Bishop, tells her, Indie knows it's her fault her best friend was kidnapped by the Priory. And with the Priory destroyed, finding Paige feels more hopeless than ever-especially when Indie discovers that Paige isn't even on Earth. She's trapped in Los Demonios, an alternate dimension of Los Angeles filled with evil paranormals. No one who has gone there has ever come out.

Fueled by terror and loyalty, Indie is desperate to find a way into the underworld prison. She'll worry about getting out later. But facing the dark world's most dangerous witches and warlocks on her own means keeping her plan hush-hush-and forging alliances with some sketchy people, including a seriously sexy sorcerer.

Sometimes a witch must keep secrets from the people she cares about most. And sometimes she isn't the only one with secrets…

I cannot wait to read this sequel!! Must know what is going to happen!!

Monday, July 28, 2014

The One (The Selection #3) by Kiera Cass

Title: The One (The Selection #3)
Author: Kiera Cass
Pages: 323
Genre: YA/Dystopian
Publisher: Harper Teen/HarperCollins Canada
Release Date: May 6, 2014
Buy: Amazon| Kobo| Chapters Indigo| B&N|

Summary: (Goodreads)

The Selection changed the lives of thirty-five girls forever. And now, the time has come for one winner to be chosen.

America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown—or to Prince Maxon's heart. But as the competition approaches its end and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realizes just how much she stands to lose—and how hard she'll have to fight for the future she wants.

From the very first page of The Selection, this #1 New York Times bestselling series has captured readers' hearts and swept them away on a captivating journey... Now, in The One, Kiera Cass delivers a satisfying and unforgettable conclusion that will keep readers sighing over this electrifying fairy-tale long after the final page is turned.


Review:

Oh My God!! This book was pure addicting! I finished it so fast that I was wishing there were more pages!! From the beginning of this series I knew it was going to be a hit! From the last book I was a little torn at what was going to happen with the romance between America, Maxon and Aspen but The One really cleared on one pure winner and I was totally rooting for him from the first pages!! Kiera Cass did an amazing job finishing out this series that was a cross between The Hunger Games and The Bachelor.  There was many happy feels when I was reading and some shocking discoveries. Even the cover is gorgeous!

America has had a very stressful time during this process of trying to win over Maxon's heart in The Selection. There was even more great insight to the relationship of America and Maxon trust each other and respect one another through each of the books. In the final book, we get the chance to see who he chooses. The plot was very fast-paced and full of action. There is also sadness and crying but it had a good mixture of everything.

Its great being back in America's head because she is still the same feisty, rule breaker who cares about her family and learned to adapt to royal life. She does not complain or whine. I liked her better in this book than the rest because she finds herself during this process. She is more assertive and direct and is going to fight for what she wants. Her relationship with Maxon is unique and I loved the scenes where he could show who he really is and want to be. He has grown more as a character. While they don't immediately show their feelings, you can see it in Cass' writing the intensity of it! It was the AHHH moment. 

I overall enjoyed The One since we know who she chooses, the letters were beautiful and I am satisfied with the entire book. I do feel bad that there wasn't enough Aspen scenes because he also grows as a main character who fights for America. Even the epilogue was a favorites since it puts everything together and happily ever after can happen. While there was conflicts still arise you get to see the rebels as either trustworthy or liars. I just want to re-read this entire series again. All readers who have been waiting to read The One, Kiera Cass will not disappoint! 

5/5

Thursday, July 24, 2014

Cover Reveal: Burying Water by K.A. Tucker

We are absolutely thrilled to bring you the cover reveal for K.A. Tucker's BURYING WATER! BURYING WATER is a New Adult Romantic Suspense novel scheduled for release October 7th! This book will blow you away. Get. Ready. Burying Water

Add BURYING WATER on Goodreads!

  About BURYING WATER: The top-selling, beloved indie author of Ten Tiny Breaths returns with a new romance about a young woman who loses her memory—and the man who knows that the only way to protect her is to stay away. Left for dead in the fields of rural Oregon, a young woman defies all odds and survives—but she awakens with no idea who she is, or what happened to her. Refusing to answer to “Jane Doe” for another day, the woman renames herself “Water” for the tiny, hidden marking on her body—the only clue to her past. Taken in by old Ginny Fitzgerald, a crotchety but kind lady living on a nearby horse farm, Water slowly begins building a new life. But as she attempts to piece together the fleeting slivers of her memory, more questions emerge: Who is the next-door neighbor, quietly toiling under the hood of his Barracuda? Why won’t Ginny let him step foot on her property? And why does Water feel she recognizes him? Twenty-four-year-old Jesse Welles doesn’t know how long it will be before Water gets her memory back. For her sake, Jesse hopes the answer is never. He knows that she’ll stay so much safer—and happier—that way. And that’s why, as hard as it is, he needs to keep his distance. Because getting too close could flood her with realities better left buried. The trouble is, water always seems to find its way to the surface.

Pre-Order BURYING WATER Now!

Amazon ** Barnes and Noble ** iTunes

In Her Wake cover (1)
 
You can read Chapters 1-4 of BURYING WATER in the back of IN HER WAKE, the Ten Tiny Breaths prequel novella from Trent's POV! IN HER WAKE is out September 1st. Pre-order your copy today!

Amazon ** Barnes and Noble ** iTunes

  Author Photo About K.A. Tucker: Born in small-town Ontario, Kathleen published her first book at the age of six with the help of her elementary school librarian and a box of crayons. She is a voracious reader and the farthest thing from a genre-snob, loving everything from High Fantasy to Chick Lit. Kathleen currently resides in a quaint small town outside of Toronto with her husband, two beautiful girls, and an exhausting brood of four-legged creatures.      

Website ** Twitter ** Facebook ** Novel Goodreads ** Author Goodreads ** YouTube ** Pinterest ** Instagram

Wednesday, July 23, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday - Exquisite Captive (Dark Caravan Cycle #1) by Heather Demetrios

Title: Exquisite Captive (Dark Caravan Cycle #1)
Author: Heather Demetrios 
Pages: 480
Genre: YA
Publisher: HarperCollins Canada/Balzer +Bray
Release Date: October 7, 2014

Summary: (Goodreads) 

Forced to obey her master.
Compelled to help her enemy.
Determined to free herself. 

Nalia is a jinni of tremendous ancient power, the only survivor of a coup that killed nearly everyone she loved. Stuffed into a bottle and sold by a slave trader, she’s now in hiding on the dark caravan, the lucrative jinni slave trade between Arjinna and Earth, where jinn are forced to grant wishes and obey their human masters’ every command. She’d give almost anything to be free of the golden shackles that bind her to Malek, her handsome, cruel master, and his lavish Hollywood lifestyle.

Enter Raif, the enigmatic leader of Arjinna’s revolution and Nalia’s sworn enemy. He promises to free Nalia from her master so that she can return to her ravaged homeland and free her imprisoned brother—all for an unbearably high price. Nalia’s not sure she can trust him, but Raif’s her only hope of escape. With her enemies on the hunt, Earth has become more perilous than ever for Nalia. There’s just one catch: for Raif’s unbinding magic to work, Nalia must gain possession of her bottle…and convince the dangerously persuasive Malek that she truly loves him. Battling a dark past and harboring a terrible secret, Nalia soon realizes her freedom may come at a price too terrible to pay: but how far is she willing to go for it?

Inspired by Arabian Nights, EXQUISITE CAPTIVE brings to life a deliciously seductive world where a wish can be a curse and shadows are sometimes safer than the light

Tuesday, July 22, 2014

Breathe, Annie, Breathe (Hundred Oaks #5) by Miranda Kenneally (Tour)

Title: Breathe Annie Breathe (Hundred Oaks #5
Author: Miranda Kenneally
Pages: 306
Genre: YA
Publisher: Sourcebooks/Raincoast
Release Date: July 15, 2014
Rating: 5/5
Buy: Amazon| Kobo| Chapters Indigo| B&N
*Got for Review from publisher*


Summary: (Goodreads)

Annie hates running. No matter how far she jogs, she can’t escape the guilt that if she hadn’t broken up with Kyle, he might still be alive. So to honor his memory, she starts preparing for the marathon he intended to race.

But the training is even more grueling than Annie could have imagined. Despite her coaching, she’s at war with her body, her mind—and her heart. With every mile that athletic Jeremiah cheers her on, she grows more conflicted. She wants to run into his arms…and sprint in the opposite direction. For Annie, opening up to love again may be even more of a challenge than crossing the finish line.

"Breathe, Annie, Breathe is an emotional, heartfelt, and beautiful story about finding yourself after loss and learning to love. It gave me so many feels. Her best book yet." — Jennifer Armentrout, New York Times bestselling author of Wait for You 


Review: 

I want to hug this book! Including Jeremiah :) I totally devoured this book! Miranda Kenneally's writing was beautiful and heartbreaking. It was also great to see all the character cameos from Miranda's past books where we got to see many people like Sam Henry, Matt & Kate, and many more but the main character Annie is a person you can connect to right away. Plus Jeremiah is Matt's younger brother who is an adrenaline junkie and cutie.

Like any other of Miranda Kenneally's other books she brings the characters to life and in Breathe, Annie, Breathe the main character is trying to become a runner. Annie is completely different and the way running is brought in the story is about. She is running a marathon in honor of her boyfriend who was training for one before he died. While she is not exactly a great runner, its her passion and determination do this for Kyle. The story definitely made me cry and laugh. 

The romance in Breathe, Annie, Breathe was jaw dropping swoon-worthy. Jeremiah and Annie start off in a weird relationship and the chemistry is steaming. It was slowed down and they also start off as friends. Jeremiah was funny throughout the entire book. When I found out that Jeremiah was going to be the next the love interest (Matt's brother) I was soo excited! Annie did not want to risk getting hurt and even lose the person she loves again since Jeremiah loves to be a thrill seeker/adrenaline addict. He is definitely lovable, patient, and is definitely worth the risk! He is not perfect but he does have his flaws. He is still a good sweet guy who loves his family. He is growing up and with Annie starting to come into his life changes his views, a bit. Jeremiah is Matt's younger brother (past characters - fav male lead in Things I Can't Forget)   

What I love about Miranda's books are that they are smart, swoony and brings contemporary YA into a better atmosphere. Her books are plain addicting, and revolve around real issues that teens go through. I loved everything about this book from beginning to end! I definitely would recommend this book and author to anybody since Miranda also loves to give us updates on past characters (favorite parts) Read this book!!

5/5

Questions for Breathe, Annie, Breathe Blog Tour

1)      Your main character, Annie, is training to run for a marathon.  You also provided a great deal of detail about how hard it is on your body to train for a marathon.  Did you do any background research for this?

A: Yes! In the past I ran a marathon and a half-marathon, so I used experiences from training for those races to write BREATHE, ANNIE, BREATHE. I also consulted "Runner's World" magazine and interviewed trainers at my gym. I also spoke to a few former pro-athletes. 


2)      When you work out, what music is on your playlist?

A: Most of the time I forget to charge my iPod before I go to the gym, but when I remember it, I listen to lots of upbeat pop music like David Guetta, Rihanna, Miley Cyrus, Lady Gaga, Justin Timberlake, Ke$ha, and Calvin Harris.


3)      Recently, there has been a huge trend with dystopian YA novels. Why do you choose to write realistic fiction?

A: To tell you the truth, I would love to write sci-fi or fantasy, but I've never been all tha t great at world-building. I love reading contemporary fiction, and people say you should write what you love reading. 


4)      What are your favourite books so far this year?

A: I've loved A MAD, WICKED FOLLY by Sharon Biggs Waller, CRUEL BEAUTY by Rosamund Hodge, and THE WINNER'S CURSE by Marie Rutkowski. Also, it doesn't come out until 2015, but I got a sneak peak at Trish Doller's next book THE DEVIL YOU KNOW, which is an awesome thriller. 


5)   Running the marathon for Kyle was Annie’s way of coping with her stress and grief.  What advice would you give others in similar situations of grief or stress?

A: I would say give yourself time to heal. Recognize that everyone's healing process is different. Don't beat yourself up if you don't feel better in a certain amount of time; everyone heals in different ways. If you need to, talk to good friends, your guidance counselor, or a therapist. 

6)   Your characters often crossover in your novels.  Is this your way of giving your characters a sequel or a happy ending?

A: Yes, I chose to write companion novels rather than sequels, because to write a sequel, you have to create drama. If I've already given my characters a happy ending at the end of a book and they have grown and developed, I don't want to take that away from them by creating unnecessary drama. I also loved the idea of creating a community in which kids influence each other in different ways throughout the books. 


7)   Who is your favourite character to write?

A: This is a super easy question! Sam Henry is my favorite. He's just so silly and wild, but honest and sweet at the same time. He was never meant to be a big character in my books, but he showed up on the page one day and would not go away no matter how much I wanted him to.