*Looking for any New Adult books to review, if you would like me to review be sure to e-mail me:)

Thursday, April 17, 2014

Happenstance by Jaime McGuire

We are thrilled to share the gorgeous cover and a teaser for Happenstance by New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestselling author Jamie McGuire! We'd love to know what you think, so please be sure to comment below AND don't forget to check out the amazing giveaway!

Title: Happenstance
Author: Jamie McGuire
Publisher: Jamie McGuire LLC (May 9, 2014)
Print Length: 100 pages
ASIN: B00JOPR0ZK

PRE-ORDER LINKS:




#1 New York Times Bestseller Jamie McGuire returns to self-publishing with this page-turning YA account of Erin Easter, one of three Erins in the small senior class of rural Blackwell High School who not only share a first name, but also their birthday. Erin Easter, raised by a neglectful single mom, keeps to herself and admires Weston Gates from afar. The other Erins, Erin A. and Erin M. are the darlings of the community: daughters of the two wealthiest families in town, best friends, cheerleaders, and everything Erin Easter isn't--and they never let her forget it. Erin A. has even claimed Weston since the 8th grade. 

Weston is a well-liked star athlete, and the son of two prominent attorneys. He struggles daily with the pressures of living up to his family name and secretly empathizes with Erin Easter's feeling that she belongs somewhere else; in a different life. Not until he begins sneaking nights out with Erin does he gain the courage to buck expectations and acknowledge his feelings ... both for his future, and for her. 

But when a shocking tragedy rocks the tiny town, Erin's life is turned upside down in the best way possible. But when the truth is revealed and everything Erin thinks she wanted falls into her lap, life only becomes more complicated.



TEASER
“What are you reading?” A deep voice asked from the seat behind me. 

I barely acknowledged Weston’s question, holding the cover of my book just high enough for him to see. 

He nodded, waiting for me to speak. When I didn’t, he offered a small smile, and began to sit back. “What are you reading?” I asked. 

Weston immediately leaned toward me, sharing his cover the way I had. 

“Piers Anthony?” Weston cleared his throat to stifle a cough, and then smiled. “I like his stuff.” 

I nodded. “I approve.” 

“Good,” Weston whispered. “I was worried.” After a short pause, he leaned into my ear again. “Why don’t you ever talk to me in Art class?” 

We had Art together in seventh period, the class I looked forward to all day. Weston was in there, but more importantly, people like the Erins and Brady weren’t. We were serious about our work, and it was the one place during the school day that I could be myself. 

“I guess I was just busy.” 

“Are you going to be busy today?” 

“Probably.” 

“Well, maybe I’ll get lucky and you’ll take a break.” I turned around to hide my grin, but not before glancing back and seeing the familiar look of hatred in Alder’s eyes. 

Whore, she mouthed, glaring at me.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About the Author:

New York Times best selling author Jamie McGuire has penned the Providence series and contemporary romance Beautiful Disaster. She lives in Oklahoma with her husband and three children. She is an RT(R), a graduate of Autry and Oklahoma Northern College, and a full time writer.

Tuesday, April 15, 2014

Don't Look Back by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: Don't Look Back
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout 
Pages: 372
Genre: YA
Publisher: Disney Hyperion/ Hatchette Book Group Canada
Release Date: April 15, 2014
*ARC from Disney/Hatchette for review*

 Buy: Amazon| Kobo| Chapters Indigo

Summary: (Goodreads)

Samantha is a stranger in her own life. Until the night she disappeared with her best friend, Cassie, everyone said Sam had it all-popularity, wealth, and a dream boyfriend. 

Sam has resurfaced, but she has no recollection of who she was or what happened to her that night. As she tries to piece together her life from before, she realizes it's one she no longer wants any part of. The old Sam took "mean girl" to a whole new level, and it's clear she and Cassie were more like best enemies. Sam is pretty sure that losing her memories is like winning the lottery. She's getting a second chance at being a better daughter, sister, and friend, and she's falling hard for Carson Ortiz, a boy who has always looked out for her-even if the old Sam treated him like trash. 

But Cassie is still missing, and the facts about what happened to her that night isn't just buried deep inside of Sam's memory-someone else knows, someone who wants to make sure Sam stays quiet. All Sam wants is the truth, and if she can unlock her clouded memories of that fateful night, she can finally move on. But what if not remembering is the only thing keeping Sam alive?


My Review:

This book was beyond creepy and Jen did an amazing job creating the characters and the plot! Don't Look Back was definitely a book that will pull you in because of the characters and what happened to Sam. After 4 days they find Sam wondering on the road and she cant remember her name or who her family is, friends and even her boyfriend. This book is definitely full of twists and turns even some shocking events!

Don't Look Back was a thriller that keeps you guessing until the end. There was a lot of "what is happening right now" moments, all in a positive way. There was so much romantic scenes or what Jen will use is a lot of tension.  It had strong characters that Armentrout uses with her same fun, wit and even mysterious works (totally not like all of her other books) but you will definitely fall in love with Carson!! 

I would totally want  a do-over but it does not have to involve what Sam goes through. After being found Sam does the best she can to piece together the night she went missing, at the same time make amends for all she did to everyone at school. This includes her twin brother Scott, Julie, and Carson. She does try with her mom but there is a lot of strain in their relationship. 


A long time ago Sam and Carson were best friends, but since high school she discovers that things change and she then starts hanging with Cassie and Del (boyfriend). By the time the "night" happens, people make fun of Carson for being the help. As she starts to remember what happened and the kind of person she was, Sam wasn't the nicest person around and the world isn't perfect. Truths will be revealed with dangerous and heartbreaking results. This book will keep you hanging!

I loved Sam's relationship with Carson because it is so different and it flows way better than her boyfriend Del who is a tool. Carson is a person who Sam can go to her problems with and help her. He gives her a second chance even if she might not deserve it during this time. Don't Look Back was definitely gave me the chills after reading it and maybe throw away my music box ....

Rating: 5/5

Thursday, April 10, 2014

Cover Reveal: Make It Count by Megan Erickson




MAKE IT COUNT excerpt:
Kat gathered her books and stuffed them into her plaid Burberry messenger bag, then headed toward the front doors, smoothie from the library snack shop in hand. Head bent, fiddling with the clasp of her bag, she stumbled into a wall of human on the pavement outside.
“Oh, I’m sorry—” Her voice dropped out when she realized the solid flesh belonged to Alec, Max’s best friend.
She’d only met him once or twice before he’d moved in with Max this semester and every time, he cocked his eyebrow with a half frown like he knew something she didn’t. Which he actually did, since he had brainy superpowers. Smarter than a speeding Einstein. Able to leap over C-minus students like her in a single bound.
She didn’t trust people that smart. And she didn’t trust a guy who didn’t ogle her ass or leer at her boobs like every other member of the straight male species on the planet.
Right now, that raised-eyebrow frown pinned her where she stood. His pale green eyes behind thick black frames roamed over her shoulder to the library and then back to her. With his pin-stripe button-down, dark jeans with Converse shoes and hair styled in a short, messy pompadour, he looked like a nerdy Elvis.
His frown morphed into a smile when he spotted the smoothie in her hand, and she definitely didn’t notice his full lips. “You know, you don’t have to venture into the forbidden zone just to get a smoothie.”
Oooh. The jerk. She glanced around surreptitiously, then leaned in and spoke in a low voice. “Just play it cool. Don’t let it slip someone like me snuck in the library.” She gripped his forearm and whispered. “Password today is rosebud.”
His face blanked and he looked at her like he’d never seen her before. Kat debated whether or not that was an improvement over his other look.
But then those intelligent eyes narrowed and a smirk curled his lips. “I know. We nerds get an e-mail every morning.”
See? He always needed the last word. She propped a hand on her hip and leaned in. “Well, sounds like you have a mole. Might want to look into that.”
He opened his mouth but she cut him off. “Just looking out for you guys. Anyway, see ya around!”
Before he could shoot back a snarky comeback, Kat skirted around him and bounded down the stairs. She chalked that up as Kat 1, Alec 0.

Author bio:
MEGAN ERICKSON grew up in a family that averages 5’3” on a good day and started writing to create characters who could reach the top kitchen shelf.
She’s got a couple of tattoos, has a thing for gladiators and has been called a crazy cat lady. After working as a journalist for years, she decided she liked creating her own endings better and switched back to fiction.
She lives in Pennsylvania with her husband, two kids and two cats. And no, she still can’t reach the stupid top shelf.

Links:
Author website: http://meganerickson.org/

Monday, March 31, 2014

Lux: Consequences (Opal & Origin) by Jennifer L. Armentrout (Cover Reveal)


Lux: Beginnings (Obsidian & Onyx) official Blurb:

Obsidian
There's an alien next door. And with his looming height and eerie green eyes, he's hot...until he opens his mouth. He's infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, he lights me up with a big fat bulls-eye. Turns out he has a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal his abilities and the only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to him until my alien mojo fades. If I don’t kill him first, that is.

Onyx
Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro alien connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems. I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?


Lux: Consequences (Opal & Origin) official blurb:


Opal
After everything, I’m no longer the same Katy. I’m different... And I’m not sure what that will mean in the end. When each step we take in discovering the truth puts us in the path of the secret organization responsible for torturing and testing alien hybrids, the more I realize there is no end to what I’m capable. The death of someone close still lingers, help comes from the most unlikely source, and friends will become the deadliest of enemies, but we won’t turn back. Even if the outcome will shatter our worlds forever.
Origin
Daemon will do anything to get Katy back. After the successful but disastrous raid on Mount Weather, he’s facing the impossible. Katy is gone. Taken. Everything becomes about finding her. But the most dangerous foe has been there all along, and when the truths are exposed and the lies come crumbling down, which side will Daemon and Katy be standing on? And will they even be together?  




LUX: BEGINNING (Obsidian & Onyx)Links:




LUX: CONSEQUENCES (Opal & Origin) Links:





Additional links to Jennifer’s pages:


We will also be raffling off two fan inspired artwork from fans of the Lux series sent from the author, Jennifer L. Armentrout, herself.
a Rafflecopter giveaway


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

# 1 NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY Bestselling author Jennifer Armentrout lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing. she spends her time reading, working out, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell, Loki.

Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen.

She also writes adult and New Adult romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.

Wednesday, March 26, 2014

A Whisper in Time by Elizabeth Langston Blog Hop

Book Blurb:
“I have never been useless in my life…”

Rescued from a life of servitude by the boy she loves, Susanna Marsh escapes across two centuries, only to be plunged into a world she’s ill-prepared to face. Unable to work or go to school, Susanna finds herself dependent on others to survive.   

Immersed in the fun and demands of his senior year of high school, Mark Lewis longs to share his world with the girl who’s captured his heart. But first he must tackle government bureaucracy to prove Susanna’s identity.

Overwhelmed by her new home, Susanna seeks refuge in history and in news of the people she left behind. But when she learns that danger stalks her sister, Susanna must weigh whether to risk her own future in order to save Phoebe’s happiness.

Links:

Book Information:
Paperback: 360 pages
Expected publication: April 8th 2014 by Spencer Hill Press
ISBN: 1937053814

Dedicated to the Ones I Love

One of the hardest things to write in a book is the dedication.  While the Acknowledgments are where I thank people who have helped me, I use the dedication to honor someone special. Doing that in ten words or less can be incredibly hard to get right.
For A Whisper In Time, I honored my parents.
To Bobbye and Chuck, my first model of selfless love
They were an easy choice. The story of Susanna and Mark is ultimately about selfless love—so it felt natural to honor the two people who taught me.
The dedication for Whisper Falls has a more poignant story behind it.
Charlie was my nephew—sweet, beautiful, and so much fun. He developed a fatal disease at the age of four and left us a few months later. Norah was the daughter of friend, lovely and joyous. She died when she was six.  Both of them would have been in their late teens now—the same age as Mark and Susanna.
I’ve decided to include the two of them in every book series that I write. For the Whisper Falls series, Norah and Charlie are the names that I have given to a pair of my favorite characters, Mark’s Gran and Granddad. It’s a little way that I can remember two adorable kids. And now, so can you.
For Norah and Charlie…We have not forgotten

Author Bio:
Elizabeth Langston lives in North Carolina, halfway between the beaches and the mountains. She has two teen-ish daughters and one husband (a geek like her). When she's not writing software or stories, Elizabeth loves to travel with her family, watch dance reality TV shows, and dream about which restaurant ought to get their business that night.

Elizabeth's debut novel WHISPER FALLS released in November 2013. Its sequels, A WHISPER IN TIME and WHISPERS FROM THE PAST, release in 2014. Learn more about her at http://www.elizabethLangston.net.

Author Links:
A WHISPER IN TIME MEGA Giveaway

We're offering a MEGA giveaway in honor of the release of the second book in the WHISPER FALLS series! Bloggers who participate in spreading the word about this giveaway (tweeting, posting on Facebook, etc...) will receive additional entries via the Rafflecopter widget



1st Prize
One red "Metro" picnic basket;
One picnic blanket;
Two "Country Drinking" picnic jars;
Two "Sip-N-Spoons" (yellow and green);
One yellow star spoke reflector;
One North Carolina Museum of Art map and postcard;
One copy of FIREBLOOD by Trisha Wolfe;
One copy of SWAMP ANGEL by Colleen Boyd;
One copy of THE DOLLHOUSE ASYLUM by Mary Gray;
One copy of SING SWEET NIGHTINGALE by Erica Cameron;
One copy of THE WITCH OF BLACKBIRD POND by Elizabeth George Speare (inscribed by Elizabeth Langston);
One copy of DAIMON by Jennifer L. Armentrout;
One (signed) copy of CURSED by Jennifer L. Armentrout;
One copy of PERSUASION by Jane Austen (inscribed by Elizabeth Langston);
One (signed) copy of DARE YOU TO by Katie McGarry; AND
Various swag (some signed).

2nd Prize
Signed copy of WHISPER FALLS (book #1) or A WHISPER IN TIME (book #2)

3rd Prize
WHISPER FALLS series Swag Pack

International Only
An Amazon gift certificate for your choice of an e-book copy of WHISPER FALLS (book #1) or A WHISPER IN TIME (book #2)


Monday, March 24, 2014

Cover Reveal: Lux Beginnings (Obsidian + Onyx) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Releases June 3, 2014
Lux: Beginnings (Obsidian & Onyx) official Blurb:
Obsidian
There's an alien next door. And with his looming height and eerie green eyes, he's hot...until he opens his mouth. He's infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, he lights me up with a big fat bulls-eye. Turns out he has a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal his abilities and the only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to him until my alien mojo fades. If I don’t kill him first, that is.
Onyx
Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro alien connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems. I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?
ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
# 1 NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY Bestselling author Jennifer Armentrout lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing. she spends her time reading, working out, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell, Loki.
Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen.
She also writes adult and New Adult romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.
LUX: BEGINNING (Obsidian & Onyx) Links:
Additional links to Jennifer’s pages:
a Rafflecopter giveaway


Tell me what you think of the cover!!

Friday, March 21, 2014

Unravel Me (Shatter Me #2) by Tahereh Mafi

Title: Unravel Me (Shatter Me #2) 
Author: Tahereh Mafi 
Pages: 461
Genre: YA
Publisher: HarperCollins
Release Date: February 5, 2013
Read: February 2014
Rating: 5/5

Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo| Book Depo| B&N


Summary (Goodreads)

tick
tick
tick
tick
tick
it's almost
time for war.

Juliette has escaped to Omega Point. It is a place for people like her—people with gifts—and it is also the headquarters of the rebel resistance.

She's finally free from The Reestablishment, free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal touch.

Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible.

In this exhilarating sequel to Shatter Me, Juliette has to make life-changing decisions between what she wants and what she thinks is right. Decisions that might involve choosing between her heart—and Adam's life.


Review: 

I am sooo happy I finally read this because as expected Tahereh Mafi can definitely leave use hanging with her beautiful writing and who to choose from. Warner or Adam?? Its great being back with what Juliette is up to since I have been waiting to read Unravel Me forever! This book can leave you shattered and with Tahereh's intricate sentences and wonderful monologues you will have a hard decision. I can say that I am Team Warner especially after finishing the book! This series is amazing and definitely one of my favorites. 

After that ending in Shatter Me it picks up immediately with Juliette and Adam joining Omega Point where they try to master their powers. Tahereh definitely made this book better than X-men. Her brilliant writing. She also introduced us to new characters that will play key roles in the next book. Its good to see that Juliette is making new friends. My heart was breaking for both Adam and Juliette because he is has been keeping secrets from Juliette that will have serious consequences for both of their well being and the relationship. But waiting on the sidelines is Warner and he is back full force with his own secrets. I loved seeing a different side to Warner and this is one of the reasons why I switched sides. Adam did feel left out but once you read  the book, it will make sense why his role was cut.  The romance especially THAT chapter was O_O I was soo happy!! 

The major twist was also revealed in Unravel Me and it left me speechless! I totally did not see it coming! Its soo good!! Warner definitely is a character who looks broken but is always prepared. I loved seeing him as a great male lead. Mafi did a great job also creating a suspenseful/action read that will leaving you wanting more. If you have not read this series I recommend you start them right now! Its definitely a book that is full of action, romance and suspense. Its a good thing I already read the next book because that book was amazing. Tahereh Mafi is an author to look out for and I will read any book she writes next!! 

Wednesday, March 19, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday: All Lined Up by Cora Carmack

Title: All Lined Up (A Rusk University #1)
Author: Cora Carmack
Pages: 320
Publisher: William Morrow PB
Release Date: May 13, 2014
Genre: NA

Summary: 

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Cora Carmack follows up her trio of hits—Losing It, Faking It, and Finding It—with this thrilling first novel in an explosive series bursting with the Texas flavor, edge, and steamy romance of Friday Night Lights.

In Texas, two things are cherished above all else—football and gossip. My life has always been ruled by both.

Dallas Cole loathes football. That's what happens when you spend your whole childhood coming in second to a sport. College is her time to step out of the bleachers, and put the playing field (and the players) in her past.

But life doesn't always go as planned. As if going to the same college as her football star ex wasn’t bad enough, her father, a Texas high school coaching phenom, has decided to make the jump to college ball… as the new head coach at Rusk University. Dallas finds herself in the shadows of her father and football all over again.

Carson McClain is determined to go from second-string quarterback to the starting line-up. He needs the scholarship and the future that football provides. But when a beautiful redhead literally falls into his life, his focus is more than tested. It's obliterated.

Dallas doesn't know Carson is on the team. Carson doesn't know that Dallas is his new coach's daughter.

And neither of them know how to walk away from the attraction they feel.