Friday, March 27, 2015

Blog Tour: Never Gonna Tell by Sarah M. Ross (Excerpt)

newspaper, magazine collage letters background
 

We are thrilled to bring you the Blog Tour for Sarah M. Ross's NEVER GONNA TELL! NEVER GONNA TELL is a standalone young adult romantic suspense that will Knock. Your. Socks. Off!

NEVER GONNA TELL is on sale for only $.99 for a limited time so grab your copy today!!!

 

NEVER GONNA TELL

  NEVER GONNA TELL Synopsis: My name is Reagan Wilcox: high school senior by day, kick-ass investigative journalist by night. I’ve always loved observing people—especially when they think no one is paying attention. I thought I was ready to cover any story. Work any angle. Nothing could have prepared me for what happened that night. I wasn’t ready for what I saw. And I certainly wasn’t ready for him. I always knew I’d write the headlines. Now, I just might become one.        

Amazon ** Barnes & Noble ** iTunes ** Kobo

 Excerpt: 
I drop to the floor to retrieve the ball. After stalling for a few seconds, I stand back up. Marco is still staring at me—or more specifically, my bent-over ass. I feel the heat rising up my neck and covering my face with what is no doubt a bright-red hue. Marco smiles ruefully at this.
“What happened, Reagan, to all your witty comebacks?” His delight at making me squirm is obvious, like a snake toying with a rat.
“Fresh out, I guess.”
“Well, that’s a shame. I was really enjoying your wit. There aren’t a whole lot of girls here who can hold down a conversation that doesn’t center on fashion or the latest escapades of Damon and Elana, and those who can are usually too stuck up to bother with a guy like me. In this town, smart and pretty is a rare commodity.”
“More like stuck-up and scared,” I mumble under my breath.
His gaze narrows. “Why? Because of my last name?”
Well, crap. I really was being a bitch, wasn’t I? He hadn’t done anything but be nice to me, and I was brushing him off because of rumors. Sure, they were significantly scary rumors with soft evidence to back them up, but I haven’t even given him a chance to prove them wrong.
“I, um.” My words are lost and jumble inside my head as his eyes are fixed on me.
“Forget it.” Funny, sweet Marco is gone, replaced with his brooding, moody alter ego. I open my mouth to apologize when the bell rings.
Coach Shaw blows his whistle, preventing any further discussion. “Return your equipment and hit the locker rooms! See you guys next week.”
I’m paying attention to Coach Shaw, so I don’t notice when Marco steps toward me, so close I catch a hint of his cologne. It’s clean and fresh, like soap mixed with fresh-cut grass or something. His fingers reach up, lightly brushing my shoulder before trailing their way down my arm. I can’t breathe. His fingers don’t stop until they circle my wrist. He clasps the paddle out of my hand and leans in to my ear, whispering.
“I’ll take these back. See you around, Reagan.”
My brain can no longer form words, so I nod, trying to remember how to breathe. And swallow. Or move, for that matter.
I think I may have absently nodded again before he turned, leaving only his lingering scent behind. I stay in the frozen state of “did that really just happen” until Goth Girl bumps into me on her way out the door.
Ability to move regained, I head to the locker room. As I debate the merits of a cold shower, I can’t help but wonder: what kind of trouble have I just found?
   



 About Sarah M. Ross: Sarah started her obsession with reading at an early age, often sneaking BabySitter Club and Nancy Drew books into math class. She would read any book she could get her hands on. Her love of reading quickly evolved into a love of writing and stories began to pour out of her. She grew up in Pittsburgh, graduated from The University of Pittsburgh with a degree in English, and taught 8th graders to love reading as much as she does for several years. Sarah will always be a proud member of the Steelers' Nation, but couldn't take the cold and moved her frozen tush to Florida where she now lives with her family and two cats. You will find her now with her trusty Kindle in hand and toes in the sand! Sarah's debut novel, AWAKEN, released in January, 2012. Other novels include AVENGE, ATONE, ECHO OF AN EARTH ANGEL, and INHALE EXHALE.  

Website | Twitter| Facebook | Author Goodreads | NEVER GONNA TELL Goodreads

 
NGT Available now

Thursday, March 26, 2015

The Start of Me and You by Emery Lord

Title: The Start of Me and You
Author: Emery Lord
Pages: 384
Genre: YA
Publisher: Bloomsbury/RazorbillCA
Release Date: March 31, 2015
Buy: Amazon| Kobo| Chapters Indigo| B&N
*ARC was provided by Bloomsbury*
Read: October 2014

Summary: (Goodreads)

Following her pitch-perfect debut Open Road Summer, Emery Lord pens another gorgeous story of best friends, new love, & second chances.

It’s been a year since it happened—when Paige Hancock’s first boyfriend died in an accident. After shutting out the world for a year, Paige is finally ready for a second chance at high school . . . and she has a plan. First: Get her old crush, Ryan Chase, to date her—the perfect way to convince everyone she’s back to normal. Next: Join a club—simple, it’s high school after all. But when Ryan’s sweet, nerdy cousin, Max, moves to town and recruits Paige for the Quiz Bowl team (of all things!) her perfect plan is thrown for a serious loop. Will Paige be able to face her fears and finally open herself up to the life she was meant to live?

Brimming with heartfelt relationships and authentic high-school dynamics The Start of Me and You proves that it’s never too late for second chances.


Review: 

Emery Lord has done it again!! Her books are so addicting and  beautifully written that you will want to re-read it all over again since her story is so well developed!  I was very excited to receive The Start of Me and You  in the mail (literally jumped up and down) from Bloomsbury!I already loved her debut Open Road Summer (recommend you read it immediately!)+ fall in love with Max Watson! The Start of Me and You will definitely make you smile by the end!


Paige Hancock is now a junior at her high school hoping for a new start to the year. Last year, Paige's boyfriend died in a terrible accident that left a huge mark on her life that includes shutting out her friends and family. Wanting to overcome her grief, she is brave enough to step out of her comfort zone with a new confidence. She has a really good family, and friends who supports her in what she wants to do. I really liked Paige's character because she is smart and like to read!  This story is about starting over and Emery Lord captures it perfectly as we see Paige grow from the first chapter!


The supporting characters are her best friends- Tessa, Morgan, Kayleigh - are some really awesome friends that are there for here whenever she needs them. When Paige starts to join a new club Quiz Bowl, and make sure her crush Ryan falls in love with her and starts to become friends with his cousin Max. Many of you know that I fell in love with Open Road Summer but this one brought it to a new level! I really loved everything about it!! 

One of many reasons to love this book is the romance. It was plotted perfectly that I didn't want it to end! Makes you wish there was a Max Weston is real life because he really give her courage and strength from the very beginning. It was great to see how it evolved. Emery sure knows how to create the perfect guy, first Matt Finch and now Max!! 

I really connected with The Start of Me and You, which is one of the  reasons I read this so quickly and the writing was written smoothly like Open Road Summer. I am looking forward to Emery Lord's next book because now she has me hooked! If you haven't pre-ordered this book I recommend you do that right away. 

5/5

Wednesday, March 25, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: Legacy of Kings (Blood of Gods and Royals #1) by Eleanor Herman

Title: Legacy of Kings (Blood of Gods and Royals #1)
Author: Eleanor Herman 
Pages: 384
Genre: Fantasy/YA
Publisher: Harlequin Teen 
Release Date: August 25, 2015

Summary (Goodreads) 

Imagine a time when the gods turn a blind eye to the agony of men, when the last of the hellions roam the plains and evil stirs beyond the edges of the map. A time when cities burn, and in their ashes, empires rise.

Alexander, Macedonia’s sixteen-year-old heir, is on the brink of discovering his fated role in conquering the known world but finds himself drawn to newcomer Katerina, who must navigate the dark secrets of court life while hiding her own mission: kill the Queen. But Kat’s first love, Jacob, will go to unthinkable lengths to win her, even if it means competing for her heart with Hephaestion, a murderer sheltered by the prince. And far across the sea, Zofia, a Persian princess and Alexander’s unmet fiancĂ©e, wants to alter her destiny by seeking the famed and deadly Spirit Eaters.

Weaving fantasy with the salacious and fascinating details of real history, New York Times bestselling author Eleanor Herman reimagines the greatest emperor the world has ever known: Alexander the Great, in the first book of the Blood of Gods and Royals series.


Need this book!! It has history, romance and an intense plot! My kind of read. 

Tuesday, March 24, 2015

Review: Confess by Colleen Hoover

Title: Confess
Author: Colleen Hoover
Pages: 320
Genre: Romance/Fiction
Publisher: Atria Books/Simon Schuster
Release Date: March 10, 2015
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo| B&N
*Received for review from Atria Books*

Summary: (Goodreads)

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover, a new novel about risking everything for love—and finding your heart somewhere between the truth and lies. 

Auburn Reed has her entire life mapped out. Her goals are in sight and there’s no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a risk and puts her heart in control, only to discover Owen is keeping major secrets from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it.

The last thing Owen wants is to lose Auburn, but he can’t seem to convince her that truth is sometimes as subjective as art. All he would have to do to save their relationship is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin…
 


Review:


Why must you do this to me Colleen Hoover!! At first the book was slow, but it really progressed half-way and then I started to love it! Confess is one of those books that will emotionally break you down from the start! I literally cried by the end of the book. Only Colleen Hoover knows how to create a plot that you can emotionally connect with the characters.

This isn't my favorite book by this author but I still really loved it! I did love how Owen's character used the confessions to play a role into the story and the fact that they were real confessions by real readers, which is fascinating. Some of them will break your heart and some will make you think about what some people do. Confess was a emotional rollercoaster from the start because we get the story about Owen and Auburn meeting and slowly falling in love. There are also glimpses of Auburn's first love in the beginning and how it affected her the rest of her life. 

Owen Gentry (aka O.M.G) is an artist who takes confessions and turns them into art in a haunting and beautiful way. Auburn stumbles upon his art studio and then works with him for one night. They both share a bond that only one of them knows. They understand loss and even frustration but also reveal their own confessions. I thought that their lives were tied by fate since their pasts are intertwined in some ways. The romance between them also blossomed and I loved how Hoover convinces the reader to also start falling in love with their story. Auburn's character is very unique and she was easy to like. 

Colleen Hoover's writing is always intense and this book did consume me in a slow way than usual. The story was told in a interesting way that I didn't see what was going to happen in the end. Confess is also filled with humor, fear, hope, sadness, love and grief that it was a very powerful read. Lots of drama as well with secondary characters. Overall, I felt it was a bit slow but the entire book was brilliantly plotted and the romance was perfectly balanced. Colleen Hoover is one of my favorite authors and I would definitely recommend her other books as well since they consume you! Looking forward to her next book! 

4/5

Monday, March 23, 2015

Release Date Launch: Pitching for Amalie by Hayley Faiman

We’re having a release day launch for Hayley Faiman’s Pitching for Amalie. I love this fantastic sports romance! Hayley is sharing a few teasers, as well as a giveaway, with us today!Pitching-Amazon banner


Blogs Taking Part in the Release Day Launch
Dollarphotoclub_75656301_copy-2
Dollarphotoclub_75655922
Pitching-AmazonAbout Pitching for Amalie: 

  When tragedy ruins her life, Amalie Aagaard cuts ties with her family and moves to Boston, leaving her past behind. Even in another city, far away from the man who loves her, memories plague her mind. Then, one night at a club, her life takes a turn during a sensual encounter with a stranger. Jarrod Harrison is determined to discover more about Amalie, but she wears a mask, shielding herself from him. With a bit of persistence, eventually, Jarrod dominates his way into her heart. Amalie lets go a little at a time, on her way to finding happiness with this man. When the past rears its ugly head, can their newfound relationship survive? Or will it shatter their future together? Book 1 - Standalone 18+ for mature audiences due to language and sexual content

Buy now from Amazon 



  About Hayley Faiman: 31 years young... born and raised in California, did a stint in Oregon only to return to the Golden State. Lived that life a while until the Lone Star State called to us, Texas is where we call home, where our boots rest and loving that country life. Living the life with one bearded power pole climbing husband, two little boys that are full of energy and drive us crazy plus a chocolate lab named Optimus Prime. Author Goodreads | Facebook | Twitter  

Enter Hayley’s amazing giveaway!! 

a Rafflecopter giveaway  

Tuesday, March 17, 2015

Release Day Launch: Never Gonna Tell by Sarah M. Ross

newspaper, magazine collage letters background
 

We are thrilled to bring you the Release Day Launch for Sarah M. Ross's NEVER GONNA TELL! NEVER GONNA TELL is a standalone young adult romantic suspense that will Knock. Your. Socks. Off!

NEVER GONNA TELL is on sale for only $.99 for a limited time so grab your copy today!!!

 

NEVER GONNA TELL

Amazon ** Barnes & Noble ** iTunes ** Kobo

  Release Day Excerpt: THE CHURCH BELLS from St. Agnes Church chime, letting me know I have a half hour before Dad calls the National Guard out for me. Hmm, maybe enough time to head to the Shake Shack and get a frozen salted caramel hot chocolate—my new favorite addiction. Gravel crunches under my feet as I cross the parking lot toward my car. As I dig through my backpack searching for my car keys, a yelp rings out in the distance. Pausing, I stand still and listen for the sound again. Was an animal hurt somewhere, maybe? The noise was muffled and not close by, so I can’t make out the source. The last bell chimes, reminding me I should hurry home, but the reporter in me won’t let me leave without checking. I wait a few minutes to see if I hear it again, scanning the area for the source. Across the street, dark shadows fill the doorways of the now-closed shops that line the main road, setting my nerves on edge. The voice in my head nags that this is how horror movies begin, but I shake off the ridiculous thought. Horror movies aren’t real. The idea of scooping a story before anyone else—that’s a real possibility. Nothing moves except for the leaves as the breeze picks up. Just as I’m ready to give up, I hear the noise again, this time followed by what sounds like shuffling feet—like something sliding through gravel. “What in the world was that?” I mutter. The sounds together don’t make any sense. If it was an animal yelping, what was that other noise? Had someone maybe captured an animal in a trap? This is rural Tennessee, so it wouldn’t surprise me. Everyone around here is well-versed in hunting, starting in elementary school. My naturally inquisitive mind begins imagining several scenarios, and I can’t walk away. Not until I know. Lord knows if I just get in my car and leave, I’ll be up all night thinking about how I might’ve missed out on a story. Bye bye, scholarship. I sigh, shoving my overflowing backpack in the passenger seat before slamming the car door as I head toward the source of the noise. I make my way toward the river, cutting through an alleyway. The single streetlight flickers, barely illuminating the area and making it feel even more desolate out here. Ominous, almost. I can’t help thinking that with my luck, it’ll end up being a skunk that sprays me for trying to help. The alley is more of a narrow path between buildings, not even wide enough for a car to fit through. Overflowing dumpsters from surrounding businesses line one side while the other is a dirty brick wall covered in graffiti. If this were Baltimore, I might have been more cautious, but while Hope Mills isn’t Pleasantville by any means, I don’t feel afraid, only curious. “Get your hands off me, you son of a bitch. You’re never going to get away with this!” a man growls in the distance, the final word echoing off the water. I whip my head around, barely missing smacking it on an underhang promoting JT’s Soul Food Buffet. Okay, that definitely wasn’t an animal.   Three green school lockers with combination wheels; fairly close-up.   NEVER GONNA TELL Synopsis: My name is Reagan Wilcox: high school senior by day, kick-ass investigative journalist by night. I’ve always loved observing people—especially when they think no one is paying attention. I thought I was ready to cover any story. Work any angle. Nothing could have prepared me for what happened that night. I wasn’t ready for what I saw. And I certainly wasn’t ready for him. I always knew I’d write the headlines. Now, I just might become one.   Killer with gun close up over dark background with copyspace.     Author-Pic About Sarah M. Ross: Sarah started her obsession with reading at an early age, often sneaking BabySitter Club and Nancy Drew books into math class. She would read any book she could get her hands on. Her love of reading quickly evolved into a love of writing and stories began to pour out of her. She grew up in Pittsburgh, graduated from The University of Pittsburgh with a degree in English, and taught 8th graders to love reading as much as she does for several years. Sarah will always be a proud member of the Steelers' Nation, but couldn't take the cold and moved her frozen tush to Florida where she now lives with her family and two cats. You will find her now with her trusty Kindle in hand and toes in the sand! Sarah's debut novel, AWAKEN, released in January, 2012. Other novels include AVENGE, ATONE, ECHO OF AN EARTH ANGEL, and INHALE EXHALE.  

Website | Twitter| Facebook | Author Goodreads | NEVER GONNA TELL Goodreads

 
NGT Available now

Thursday, March 12, 2015

Nichole Chase's Special Announcement!!

We have a fantastic announcement from Nichole Chase today, and we cannot wait to share it with you! Are you ready?

HERE’S THE SCOOP!

Fans of Nichole Chase’s Royal Series, get ready to cheer!

The American Royalty Series is coming!!!

HarperCollins will be publishing Nichole’s new series The American Royalty Series in Winter 2016, and you are NOT going to want to miss what Nichole has up her sleeve!

Things to Expect from The American Royalty Series:
  • Humor and witty banter
  • West Wing meets Scandal meets Suddenly Royal Mashup, anyone?
  • A cameo (or two) from the Royal Series
  • Drama
  • Jake. Jake. Jake.
  • Um….did I mention Jake?
  • The easy and beautiful writing you’ve come to know and love from Nichole Chase
Beautiful alluring young woman in sexy turquoise lingerie lying on the floorA Message from Nichole:
I'm very excited to be working with HarperCollins to bring the American Royalty series to life. I'm very interested in the life of politics--there is so much that goes on behind the scenes that most people never hear about and it intertwines with our daily government and in some ways, affecting everyone. As I was thinking about that fact, Jake and Maddie's story began to take form and I found myself enthralled by the challenges they would face and just what their happy-ever-after would entail, if there could *be* a happy-ever-after. 

About Book 1 (Title To Be Announced) in The American Royalty Series:
Color me jaded, but coming home just isn’t the same when you have to go through security before you can see your dad. Don’t get me wrong, everyone had to go through security to see my dad. Even Kings, Queens, celebrities, my step-mother and half-brother we’re given the metal detector treatment. It wasn’t like I was a hooligan being singled out. It’s just part of life when your father is president. Go figure. Maddie’s father is in his second term as president and she could care less. Being a politician’s child has made her world weary and leery of being manipulated. When she comes home from college for her summer break, she thinks it’s the last time she’ll be in the white house. Her father’s term is almost over and she’ll finally be able to live the life she wanted. What she doesn’t count on is facing her nemesis, Jake Simmon, back from the war. As the son of the Vice President, she had constantly been paired with him for events and during campaign tours. The tabloids loved to speculate about a possible relationship, but that couldn’t be farther from the truth. Jake was the perfect politician’s son. He always did as he was asked, always smiled, and to her absolute horror always looked dreamy. In other words, he was her exact opposite. Jake was finally home, but he couldn’t wait to escape. Instead of searching for peace and quiet after losing his leg in Afghanistan, he was sitting in on campaign meetings and giving interviews. He had never felt so helpless in his life, not even after waking strapped to a table in a blistering hot med tent. His mother was intent on using his brand new disability as a campaign tool. Show off her wounded son so people would find her relatable. The only positive thing he had to focus on was the fact that he would get to see Maddie again, which was pathetic when you considered that they hated each other. She’d always gotten under his skin, throwing caution to the wind and doing what she’d wanted while he had walked the line. In a world where everyone looked at him with sympathy, he knew she wouldn’t hold back. And though he was loathe to admit it, one of his favorite past times was verbally sparring with the spunky brunette. What he isn’t counting on is how much they have both changed over the last two years.


 About Nichole Chase: Nichole Chase is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of Suddenly Royal, Flukes, The Dark Betrayal Trilogy, and several short stories. She is also the instructor of Say What? a dialogue class at the Romance Academy. Nichole lives in Georgia with her husband, energetic daughter, superhero dog, Sulcata tortoise, and two cats. When not writing, you may find her reading, painting, crafting, or chasing her daughter around the house while making monster noises.    

Website ** Twitter ** Facebook ** Author Goodreads

Wednesday, March 11, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4) by Sarah J. Maas

Title: Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4) 
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Pages: 576 (YAY!) 
Genre: Fantasy 
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens/Razorbill 
Release Day: September 1, 2015 
Preorder: Kobo| Amazon| AmazonCA|

Summary (Goodreads) 

Sarah J. Maas's New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series reaches new heights in this sweeping fourth volume.

Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she's at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past . . .

She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die just to see her again. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen's triumphant return.

Celaena’s epic journey has captured the hearts and imaginations of millions across the globe. This fourth volume will hold readers rapt as Celaena’s story builds to a passionate, agonizing crescendo that might just shatter her world.


Can it be September??? This has to be one of my most anticipated books for this year! 

Monday, March 9, 2015

Blog Tour (Guest Post): The Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows

Summary: (Goodreads)
Wilhelmina has a hundred identities.

She is a princess. When the Indigo Kingdom conquered her homeland, Wilhelmina and other orphaned children of nobility were taken to Skyvale, the Indigo Kingdom’s capital. Ten years later, they are the Ospreys, experts at stealth and theft. With them, Wilhelmina means to take back her throne.

She is a spy. Wil and her best friend, Melanie, infiltrate Skyvale Palace to study their foes. They assume the identities of nobles from a wraith-fallen kingdom, but enemies fill the palace, and Melanie’s behavior grows suspicious. With Osprey missions becoming increasingly dangerous and their leader more unstable, Wil can’t trust anyone.

She is a threat. Wraith is the toxic by-product of magic, and for a century using magic has been forbidden. Still the wraith pours across the continent, reshaping the land and animals into fresh horrors. Soon it will reach the Indigo Kingdom. Wilhelmina’s magic might be the key to stopping the wraith, but if the vigilante Black Knife discovers Wil’s magic, she will vanish like all the others

Jodi Meadows introduces a vivid new fantasy full of intrigue, romance, dangerous magic, and one girl’s battle to reclaim her place in the world.
Jodi's bio

Jodi Meadows lives and writes in the Shenandoah Valley, Virginia, with her husband, a Kippy*, and an alarming number of ferrets. She is a confessed book addict, and has wanted to be a writer ever since she decided against becoming an astronaut. She is the author of the INCARNATE Trilogy and the forthcoming ORPHAN QUEEN Duology (HarperCollins/Katherine Tegen). Visit her at www.jodimeadows.com

Purchase links: Chapters Indigo| AmazonCA

Guest Post: Calligraphy 

I started learning calligraphy because of THE ORPHAN QUEEN.

Pretty quickly in the planning stages, I knew that Wilhelmina was into forgery ­­ it's part of her skill at borrowing others' identities ­­ so I had to figure out how to make this real and convincing for the reader. Well. Any excuse to buy office/art supplies. First, I figured out what kind of writing instrument Wil would use. My initial thought was fountain pens, because the level of technology is more advanced than a lot of fantasy. But after some research, I realized that didn't work with the world I'd set up.

So then I looked into dip pens. It turns out there are several different kinds. The wide, broad­edged ones used for Gothic and Roman lettering, and the pointy ones meant for Copperplate and Spencerian writing. I got some of both and tried the broad­edged ones first, but I kept finding myself drawn to the long, elegant lines of Copperplate.

Well, back up. Because I made a lot of mistakes in there. I bought paper that didn't hold ink nicely, or was pretty rough for pointed pens (so the tines would catch on the upstrokes). I bought inks I didn't like that much. I got more paper. And eventually, after I felt I'd made lots of mistakes, I put it aside for a while and worked on my book, confident I could write what it felt like to move the pen on paper, and where to have young Wilhelmina make mistakes.

Fast forward to the middle of freaking out about the sequel. I picked up calligraphy again, researched more, and vowed to practice according to the book I'd bought, starting with using the proper pen holder for Copperplate, drawing straight lines, moving on to curves and other parts of letters ­­ before I even drew the first letter. Not surprisingly, this went a lot better and I learned quickly.

I'm still nowhere as good at it as Wilhelmina, but practice has helped, and I guess the hobby is sticking.

The Return (Titan #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: The Return (Titan #1)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Pages: 335
Genre: New Adult/Paranormal
Publisher: Spencer Hill Press
Release Date: February 16, 2015
Buy: Amazon| AmazonCA| Book Depository
Recommended to 18+

Summary: (Goodreads)

The Fates are cackling their bony asses off…

It’s been a year since Seth made the deal with the gods that pledged his life to them. And so far, the jobs they’ve given him have been violent and bloody–which is kind of all right with him. But now Apollo has something else in mind for Seth. He’s got to play protector while keeping his hands and fingers off, and for someone who really has a problem with restraint, this new assignment might be the most challenging yet.

Josie has no idea what this crazy hot guy’s deal might be, but it’s a good bet that his arrival means the new life she started after leaving home is about to be thrown into an Olympian-sized blender turned up to puree. Either Josie is going insane or a nightmare straight out of ancient myth is gunning for her.

But it might be the unlikely attraction simmering between her and the golden-eyed, secret-keeping Seth that may prove to be the most dangerous thing of all.

Because history has once again been flipped to repeat.

Book 1 in the new adult paranormal TITAN series, spin-off to the best selling COVENANT series.


Review: 

Thank you Jennifer for making a book about Seth!! I think I love him more after reading The Return because he totally deserves to be the star! When the Covenant series ended it felt like there could be more of the story, so I am very happy that you announced that Seth was getting a series! I still love Aiden St. Delphi, but Seth has won me over more since he is the bad boy. I really did have a soft spot for him during the Covenant series for example the pool scene! He definitely is a Cuddle Bunny! Glad that he is back!! Jennifer blows me away with her books each time, She is my favorite author and this amazing book!

Seth from the moment you meet him knows how to steal the show in this novel. He had his followers in the Covenant series (I was in the middle), but I knew he wasn't the right choice for Alex despite what happened in the last two books. He made choices that made us angry but at the end what he did was redeeming. But it lead us to this book!! Since the end of Sentinel, Seth has been doing a lot for the Gods for what he did for Alex at the end of the book. The last thing he needs to think about is to babysit a human. Or so he thinks! In the last year he has done the dirty work for the Gods. He is not happy until he meets Josie. He wants to resist her and consider things, but being around her is making it difficult and thinks he is undeserving of her. 

I really loved Josie from the beginning. You can see immediately that these two belong together. Each gives each other the strength and motivation to do better. Josie brings out the best in Seth which is great to see because we get to see a different side of him through her eyes. They have a similar history of their backgrounds that provides us a reason why Seth is the way he is. Josie can see right through Seth's tough exterior but she is drawn to him, even though he could be a jerk (Sethie!) which make me as the reader love him more! 


JLA has a great sense of humor that you can connect with. She has phrases that are just hers that you will laugh from the first chapter! It was great being back into the amazing world that Jen has created! The Covenant series is my favorite and to see Apollo back and popping in at the worst moments is his trademark! You can see that they haven't changed! Lots have changed in the world, and change is very hard for most of this society. Seeing Deacon and Luke again also brought Josie comfort since those two are the most friendliest and easy to talk to!  

Now to the romance that was super steamy and swoony!! How could it now be since Seth is involved!! I must warn you that it is HOT and it is not recommended for anyone under the age of 18 since it does have scenes. I loved Seth and Josie's relationship because it was sweet and innocent but it made me fall in love with Seth more! Boy that ending made me think and I want book 2 because there were a lot of emotions in this novel! 

Overall, The Return is a must read for those who are big JLA fans like myself! This paranormal world will suck you into its plots and suspense that you will want the next book immediately! 

5/5 

Wednesday, March 4, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between by Jennifer E. Smith

Title: Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between 
Author: Jennifer E. Smith
Pages: 256
Genre: Young Adult 
Publisher: Poppy 
Release Date: September 1, 2015

Summary (Goodreads)

On the night before they leave for college, Clare and Aidan only have one thing left to do: figure out whether they should stay together or break up. Over the course of twelve hours, they'll retrace the steps of their relationship, trying to find something in their past that might help them decide what their future should be. The night will lead them to friends and family, familiar landmarks and unexpected places, hard truths and surprising revelations. But as the clock winds down and morning approaches, so does their inevitable goodbye. The question is, will it be goodbye for now or goodbye forever?

This new must-read novel from Jennifer E. Smith, author of The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight, explores the difficult choices that must be made when life and love lead in different directions.


Tuesday, March 3, 2015

Release Blitz: Becoming Rain by K.A. Tucker

Becoming Rain RB Banner
  We are dying to share this Release Blitz with you all to celebrate K.A. Tucker's BECOMING RAIN! BECOMING RAIN is a New Adult Romantic Suspense novel, and the second novel in K.A. Tucker’s Burying Water Series, published by Atria books, an Imprint of Simon & Schuster. We hope you're ready for this!
Becoming Rain

BECOMING RAIN US BUY LINKS:

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Books-a-Million | IndieBound | Apple | Blio | Books-a-Million | Google

UK BUY LINKS/BECOMING RAIN:

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Apple | Google | Waterstones | Foyles

Becoming Rain - Teaser 1
About BECOMING RAIN: 
 Luke Boone doesn't know exactly what his uncle Rust is involved in but he wants in on it-the cars, the money, the women. And it looks like he's finally getting his wish. When Rust hands him the managerial keys to the garage, they come with a second set-one that opens up the door to tons of cash and opportunity. Though it's not exactly legal, Luke's never been one to worry about that sort of thing. Especially when it puts him behind the wheel of a Porsche 911 and onto the radar of gorgeous socialite named Rain. Clara Bertelli is at the top of her game-at only twenty-six years old, she's one of the most successful undercover officers in the Washington D.C. major crime unit, and she's just been handed a case that could catapult her career and expose one of the west coast's most notorious car theft rings. But, in order to do it, she'll need to go deep undercover as Rain Martines. Her target? The twenty-four-year old nephew of a key player who appears ready to follow in his uncle's footsteps. As Clara drifts deeper into the luxurious lifestyle of Rain, and further into the arms of her very attractive and charming target, the lines between right and wrong start to blur, making her wonder if she'll be able to leave it all behind. Or if she'll even want to.   And don’t forget BURYING WATER, the first book in this thrilling series…

Amazon ** Barnes & Noble ** iBooks ** Kobo ** IndieBound

Burying Water
About BURYING WATER: The top-selling, beloved indie author of Ten Tiny Breaths returns with a new romance about a young woman who loses her memory—and the man who knows that the only way to protect her is to stay away. Left for dead in the fields of rural Oregon, a young woman defies all odds and survives—but she awakens with no idea who she is, or what happened to her. Refusing to answer to “Jane Doe” for another day, the woman renames herself “Water” for the tiny, hidden marking on her body—the only clue to her past. Taken in by old Ginny Fitzgerald, a crotchety but kind lady living on a nearby horse farm, Water slowly begins building a new life. But as she attempts to piece together the fleeting slivers of her memory, more questions emerge: Who is the next-door neighbor, quietly toiling under the hood of his Barracuda? Why won’t Ginny let him step foot on her property? And why does Water feel she recognizes him? Twenty-four-year-old Jesse Welles doesn’t know how long it will be before Water gets her memory back. For her sake, Jesse hopes the answer is never. He knows that she’ll stay so much safer—and happier—that way. And that’s why, as hard as it is, he needs to keep his distance. Because getting too close could flood her with realities better left buried. The trouble is, water always seems to find its way to the surface.


 About K.A. Tucker: Born in small-town Ontario, Kathleen published her first book at the age of six with the help of her elementary school librarian and a box of crayons. She is a voracious reader and the farthest thing from a genre-snob, loving everything from High Fantasy to Chick Lit. Kathleen currently resides in a quaint small town outside of Toronto with her husband, two beautiful girls, and an exhausting brood of four-legged creatures.        

Website ** Twitter ** Facebook ** Novel Goodreads ** Author Goodreads ** YouTube ** Pinterest ** Instagram

Becoming Rain - Available Now
 
EXCERPT 
“Let us know if you have any more problems.” Luke flashes that wide, charming smile that stalls my feet just a little.
Still no mention of connecting again. In fact, I’d say Luke has gone out of his way to skirt the subject. He’s just not interested. That’s all there is to it. Or maybe he’s waiting for me to bring it up again. But if he’s not, then bringing it up will make me look desperate. I’m guessing he doesn’t like desperate women.
Luke Boone has me in a tailspin. No target has ever had me second-guessing myself this much, this early. It’s just the pressure of the case, I remind myself. “I’m sure I will.” I take long, slow steps, ensuring my movements are sleek and appealing, the opposite of my frantic thoughts, as I desperately search for another hook, since nothing I’m casting has caught so far.
“So, when did you say you’re cooking dinner for me?”
I fight the urge to groan with relief but I can’t keep the smile from exploding across my face. “Whenever you call me.” I turn to regard him, to see his smug face—like he knew I was waiting for it all along, like he was toying with me—and nod to the sheet on his desk. “You have my number.”
“I do.” His eyes twinkle. “I’ll call you soon.”
Thank fucking God.
I wait until I’m in my car and around the corner before turning off my wire and squealing like a fourteen-year-old who just got asked out to the movies. I dial Warner to debrief, my heart still racing. It’s standard protocol to call in after every meeting with my target. Up until now, I’ve had nothing but failure to report. And, while this may not seem like much . . .
I think I’m finally in.
a Rafflecopter giveaway