AUTHORS+ PUBLISHER: I AM CELEBRATING 1600 FOLLOWERS, IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO DONATE PRIZES EMAIL ME HERE--> amandapedulla21@hotmail.com THANK YOU

Thursday, July 24, 2014

Cover Reveal: Burying Water by K.A. Tucker

We are absolutely thrilled to bring you the cover reveal for K.A. Tucker's BURYING WATER! BURYING WATER is a New Adult Romantic Suspense novel scheduled for release October 7th! This book will blow you away. Get. Ready. Burying Water

Add BURYING WATER on Goodreads!

  About BURYING WATER: The top-selling, beloved indie author of Ten Tiny Breaths returns with a new romance about a young woman who loses her memory—and the man who knows that the only way to protect her is to stay away. Left for dead in the fields of rural Oregon, a young woman defies all odds and survives—but she awakens with no idea who she is, or what happened to her. Refusing to answer to “Jane Doe” for another day, the woman renames herself “Water” for the tiny, hidden marking on her body—the only clue to her past. Taken in by old Ginny Fitzgerald, a crotchety but kind lady living on a nearby horse farm, Water slowly begins building a new life. But as she attempts to piece together the fleeting slivers of her memory, more questions emerge: Who is the next-door neighbor, quietly toiling under the hood of his Barracuda? Why won’t Ginny let him step foot on her property? And why does Water feel she recognizes him? Twenty-four-year-old Jesse Welles doesn’t know how long it will be before Water gets her memory back. For her sake, Jesse hopes the answer is never. He knows that she’ll stay so much safer—and happier—that way. And that’s why, as hard as it is, he needs to keep his distance. Because getting too close could flood her with realities better left buried. The trouble is, water always seems to find its way to the surface.

Pre-Order BURYING WATER Now!

Amazon ** Barnes and Noble ** iTunes

In Her Wake cover (1)
 
You can read Chapters 1-4 of BURYING WATER in the back of IN HER WAKE, the Ten Tiny Breaths prequel novella from Trent's POV! IN HER WAKE is out September 1st. Pre-order your copy today!

Amazon ** Barnes and Noble ** iTunes

  Author Photo About K.A. Tucker: Born in small-town Ontario, Kathleen published her first book at the age of six with the help of her elementary school librarian and a box of crayons. She is a voracious reader and the farthest thing from a genre-snob, loving everything from High Fantasy to Chick Lit. Kathleen currently resides in a quaint small town outside of Toronto with her husband, two beautiful girls, and an exhausting brood of four-legged creatures.      

Website ** Twitter ** Facebook ** Novel Goodreads ** Author Goodreads ** YouTube ** Pinterest ** Instagram

Wednesday, July 23, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday - Exquisite Captive (Dark Caravan Cycle #1) by Heather Demetrios

Title: Exquisite Captive (Dark Caravan Cycle #1)
Author: Heather Demetrios 
Pages: 480
Genre: YA
Publisher: HarperCollins Canada/Balzer +Bray
Release Date: October 7, 2014

Summary: (Goodreads) 

Forced to obey her master.
Compelled to help her enemy.
Determined to free herself. 

Nalia is a jinni of tremendous ancient power, the only survivor of a coup that killed nearly everyone she loved. Stuffed into a bottle and sold by a slave trader, she’s now in hiding on the dark caravan, the lucrative jinni slave trade between Arjinna and Earth, where jinn are forced to grant wishes and obey their human masters’ every command. She’d give almost anything to be free of the golden shackles that bind her to Malek, her handsome, cruel master, and his lavish Hollywood lifestyle.

Enter Raif, the enigmatic leader of Arjinna’s revolution and Nalia’s sworn enemy. He promises to free Nalia from her master so that she can return to her ravaged homeland and free her imprisoned brother—all for an unbearably high price. Nalia’s not sure she can trust him, but Raif’s her only hope of escape. With her enemies on the hunt, Earth has become more perilous than ever for Nalia. There’s just one catch: for Raif’s unbinding magic to work, Nalia must gain possession of her bottle…and convince the dangerously persuasive Malek that she truly loves him. Battling a dark past and harboring a terrible secret, Nalia soon realizes her freedom may come at a price too terrible to pay: but how far is she willing to go for it?

Inspired by Arabian Nights, EXQUISITE CAPTIVE brings to life a deliciously seductive world where a wish can be a curse and shadows are sometimes safer than the light

Tuesday, July 22, 2014

Breathe, Annie, Breathe (Hundred Oaks #5) by Miranda Kenneally (Tour)

Title: Breathe Annie Breathe (Hundred Oaks #5
Author: Miranda Kenneally
Pages: 306
Genre: YA
Publisher: Sourcebooks/Raincoast
Release Date: July 15, 2014
Rating: 5/5
Buy: Amazon| Kobo| Chapters Indigo| B&N
*Got for Review from publisher*


Summary: (Goodreads)

Annie hates running. No matter how far she jogs, she can’t escape the guilt that if she hadn’t broken up with Kyle, he might still be alive. So to honor his memory, she starts preparing for the marathon he intended to race.

But the training is even more grueling than Annie could have imagined. Despite her coaching, she’s at war with her body, her mind—and her heart. With every mile that athletic Jeremiah cheers her on, she grows more conflicted. She wants to run into his arms…and sprint in the opposite direction. For Annie, opening up to love again may be even more of a challenge than crossing the finish line.

"Breathe, Annie, Breathe is an emotional, heartfelt, and beautiful story about finding yourself after loss and learning to love. It gave me so many feels. Her best book yet." — Jennifer Armentrout, New York Times bestselling author of Wait for You 


Review: 

I want to hug this book! Including Jeremiah :) I totally devoured this book! Miranda Kenneally's writing was beautiful and heartbreaking. It was also great to see all the character cameos from Miranda's past books where we got to see many people like Sam Henry, Matt & Kate, and many more but the main character Annie is a person you can connect to right away. Plus Jeremiah is Matt's younger brother who is an adrenaline junkie and cutie.

Like any other of Miranda Kenneally's other books she brings the characters to life and in Breathe, Annie, Breathe the main character is trying to become a runner. Annie is completely different and the way running is brought in the story is about. She is running a marathon in honor of her boyfriend who was training for one before he died. While she is not exactly a great runner, its her passion and determination do this for Kyle. The story definitely made me cry and laugh. 

The romance in Breathe, Annie, Breathe was jaw dropping swoon-worthy. Jeremiah and Annie start off in a weird relationship and the chemistry is steaming. It was slowed down and they also start off as friends. Jeremiah was funny throughout the entire book. When I found out that Jeremiah was going to be the next the love interest (Matt's brother) I was soo excited! Annie did not want to risk getting hurt and even lose the person she loves again since Jeremiah loves to be a thrill seeker/adrenaline addict. He is definitely lovable, patient, and is definitely worth the risk! He is not perfect but he does have his flaws. He is still a good sweet guy who loves his family. He is growing up and with Annie starting to come into his life changes his views, a bit. Jeremiah is Matt's younger brother (past characters - fav male lead in Things I Can't Forget)   

What I love about Miranda's books are that they are smart, swoony and brings contemporary YA into a better atmosphere. Her books are plain addicting, and revolve around real issues that teens go through. I loved everything about this book from beginning to end! I definitely would recommend this book and author to anybody since Miranda also loves to give us updates on past characters (favorite parts) Read this book!!

5/5

Questions for Breathe, Annie, Breathe Blog Tour

1)      Your main character, Annie, is training to run for a marathon.  You also provided a great deal of detail about how hard it is on your body to train for a marathon.  Did you do any background research for this?

A: Yes! In the past I ran a marathon and a half-marathon, so I used experiences from training for those races to write BREATHE, ANNIE, BREATHE. I also consulted "Runner's World" magazine and interviewed trainers at my gym. I also spoke to a few former pro-athletes. 


2)      When you work out, what music is on your playlist?

A: Most of the time I forget to charge my iPod before I go to the gym, but when I remember it, I listen to lots of upbeat pop music like David Guetta, Rihanna, Miley Cyrus, Lady Gaga, Justin Timberlake, Ke$ha, and Calvin Harris.


3)      Recently, there has been a huge trend with dystopian YA novels. Why do you choose to write realistic fiction?

A: To tell you the truth, I would love to write sci-fi or fantasy, but I've never been all tha t great at world-building. I love reading contemporary fiction, and people say you should write what you love reading. 


4)      What are your favourite books so far this year?

A: I've loved A MAD, WICKED FOLLY by Sharon Biggs Waller, CRUEL BEAUTY by Rosamund Hodge, and THE WINNER'S CURSE by Marie Rutkowski. Also, it doesn't come out until 2015, but I got a sneak peak at Trish Doller's next book THE DEVIL YOU KNOW, which is an awesome thriller. 


5)   Running the marathon for Kyle was Annie’s way of coping with her stress and grief.  What advice would you give others in similar situations of grief or stress?

A: I would say give yourself time to heal. Recognize that everyone's healing process is different. Don't beat yourself up if you don't feel better in a certain amount of time; everyone heals in different ways. If you need to, talk to good friends, your guidance counselor, or a therapist. 

6)   Your characters often crossover in your novels.  Is this your way of giving your characters a sequel or a happy ending?

A: Yes, I chose to write companion novels rather than sequels, because to write a sequel, you have to create drama. If I've already given my characters a happy ending at the end of a book and they have grown and developed, I don't want to take that away from them by creating unnecessary drama. I also loved the idea of creating a community in which kids influence each other in different ways throughout the books. 


7)   Who is your favourite character to write?

A: This is a super easy question! Sam Henry is my favorite. He's just so silly and wild, but honest and sweet at the same time. He was never meant to be a big character in my books, but he showed up on the page one day and would not go away no matter how much I wanted him to. 



Monday, July 21, 2014

Cover Reveal: Play On by Michelle Smith

Title: Play On
Author: Michelle Smith 
Publisher: Spencer Hill Contemporary 
Release Date: April 2015 

In the small town of Lewis Creek, baseball is everything. Especially for all-star pitcher Austin Braxton, who has a one-way ticket out of town with his scholarship to a top university. All that stands between him and a new start is one final season. But when Austin starts flunking Chemistry, his picture-perfect future is in jeopardy. A failing grade means zero playing time, and zero playing time means no scholarship.

Enter Marisa Marlowe, the new girl in town who gets a job at his momma's flower shop. Not only is Marisa some home-schooled super-genius; she's also a baseball fanatic and more than willing to help Austin study. As the two grow closer, there's something about Marisa that makes Austin want more than just baseball and out of Lewis Creek -- he wants a future with her. But Marisa has a past that still haunts her, one that she ran all the way to South Carolina to escape.


As Austin starts to peel back the layers of Marisa’s pain, it forces him to look beyond the fa├žade of himself and everyone he thought he knew in his town. What he sees instead is that in a small town like Lewis Creek, maybe baseball isn’t everything—maybe it is just the thing that ties them all together.






Tuesday, July 15, 2014

2015 Cover Reveals- Just Released This Week!

Comes out March 31, 2015 from Bloomsbury

About: 

Following her pitch-perfect debut Open Road Summer, Emery Lord pens another gorgeous story of best friends, new love, & second chances.

It’s been two years since it happened—when Paige Hancock’s first boyfriend died in an accident. After shutting out the world for two years, Paige is finally ready for a second chance at high school . . . and she has a plan. First: Get her old crush, Ryan Chase, to date her—the perfect way to convince everyone she’s back to normal. Next: Join a club—simple, it’s high school after all. But when Ryan’s sweet, nerdy cousin, Max, moves to town and recruits Paige for the Quiz Bowl team (of all things!) her perfect plan is thrown for a serious loop. Will Paige be able to face her fears and finally open herself up to the life she was meant to live?

Brimming with heartfelt relationships and authentic high-school dynamics The Start of Me and You proves that it’s never too late for second chances




Comes out from Razorbill on February 24, 2015

About: 

Deep in the Kalahari Desert, a Corpus lab protects a dangerous secret…


But what happens when that secret takes on a life of its own?


When an educational safari goes wrong, five teens find themselves stranded in the Kalahari Desert without a guide. It’s up to Sarah, the daughter of zoologists, to keep them alive and lead them to safety, calling on survival know-how from years of growing up in remote and exotic locales. Battling dehydration, starvation and the pangs of first love, she does her best to hold it together, even as their circumstances grow increasingly desperate.

But soon a terrifying encounter makes Sarah question everything she’s ever known about the natural world. A silver lion, as though made of mercury, makes a vicious, unprovoked attack on the group. After a narrow escape, they uncover the chilling truth behind the lion’s silver sheen: a highly contagious and deadly virus that threatens to ravage the entire area—and eliminate life as they know it.

In this breathtaking new novel by the acclaimed author of Origin and Vitro, Sarah and the others must not only outrun the virus, but its creators, who will stop at nothing to wipe every trace of it.



Comes out March 3, 2015 from Harper Collins 

Summary: 
New York Times bestselling author Lauren Oliver delivers a gripping story about two sisters inexorably altered by a terrible accident.

Dara and Nick used to be inseparable, but that was before the accident that left Dara's beautiful face scarred and the two sisters totally estranged. When Dara vanishes on her birthday, Nick thinks Dara is just playing around. But another girl, nine-year-old Madeline Snow, has vanished, too, and Nick becomes increasingly convinced that the two disappearances are linked. Now Nick has to find her sister, before it's too late.

In this edgy and compelling novel, Lauren Oliver creates a world of intrigue, loss, and suspicion as two sisters search to find themselves, and each other


Sunday, July 13, 2014

Blog Tour: Until We Fly (Beautifully Broken #4) by Courtney Cole


Title: Until We Fly (Beautifully Broken #4) 
Author: Courtney Cole
Publisher: Lakehouse Press 
Release Date: July 7, 2014

Summary (Goodreads

Ex-Army Ranger, Brand Killien, has always been good. 
A good friend, a good soldier, a good everything. .
The problem is, good hasn’t gotten him anything but a crushed heart. 
So after licking his wounds, he decides to move on.  And moving on doesn’t include being good anymore. 
Bad sounds so much better. 
Jaded and detached, Brand is determined to never open himself up to anyone again.  It’s not worth the pain.  Instead, he becomes closed, hardened, aloof. 
But then he’s called back home for a family emergency… a family that he is estranged from.  A family that he put out of his mind a long time ago for very good reasons…reasons that involve secrets and pain.  Reasons he tried hard to forget.    
But home is where the heart is, and it just might be where Brand finds his again. 
Why?  Because home is where Nora Greene is.  A fiery, red-headed spitfire, Nora is a thing from his past.  A beautiful, feisty thing.  When Brand left, she was away at boarding school.   
But she’s back now. 
And she wants Brand, scars and all. 

Review:
Like any of Courtney Cole's books we first had Pax which I loved, then Gabe, and Dominic. All three of these men were broken but love will definitely come for our next love interest Brand. Courtney definitely has a way with writing her books because they all make me want to re-read them. I have always loved New Adult and this series definitely is great to begin with! Brand is HOT and it was great to see the chemistry between Brand and Nora. 
Brand has been a part of every story line, he is Gabe's best friend from the Army Rangers. He was wounded like Gabe. He is the guy when someone is in trouble or afraid. Brand fixes everyone's problems except his own pain after the Army and childhood. Until Nora comes in and he questions whether he is worthy of her love. While they may be damaged, fate has brought them together to help each other overcome their pasts and learn the truths.  Each of their characters are flawed but Cole is great at this because she can some how put them together with her beautiful writing. 
I am already a big fan of Courtney Cole and it hasn't changed since I always buy her books! The Beautifully Broken Series could be dark and twisted, then in the next it becomes beautiful. I also love seeing updates on past characters which is another thing I love.  Until We Fly will craete butterflies in your stomach, maybe even tears because these strong characters go through so much! Can't wait for more books to come!! 
5/5
And don’t miss the other Beautifully Broken, now available:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Praise for the Beautifully Broken Series:
"I loved If You Stay. Like, really really loved it. The kind of love that kept me reading until 2:40 am and left me crying, smiling, devastated, and elated. The best kind of book love." - Andrea, The Bookish Babe

"Beautiful, raw, gritty, emotional and breath-taking are just a few of the words I can find to describe this book...reading this book was one of the best experiences I have had." -Amanda, Globug and Hootie Need a Book
"In If You Leave, we continue the wild ride Courtney Cole started us on in If You Stay. This raw story of heartbreak and hope solidifies Cole's standing as a rising star in hot contemporary romance." --- New York Times Bestselling author of Down to You, M. Leighton
"Another raw, gritty masterpiece with a sexy-as-hell Army Ranger to swoon over." --- K.A. Tucker, author of Ten Tiny Breaths

ABOUT COURTNEY COLE:
Courtney Cole is a novelist who would eat mythology for breakfast if she could. She has a degree in Business, but has since discovered that corporate America is not nearly as fun to live in as fictional worlds. She loves chocolate and roller coasters and hates waiting and rude people.
Courtney lives in quiet suburbia, close to Lake Michigan, with her real-life Prince Charming, her ornery kids (there is a small chance that they get their orneriness from their mother) and a small domestic zoo.
 Links:

Friday, July 11, 2014

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Title: Fangirl
Author: Rainbow Rowell
Pages: 445
Genre: YA
Publisher: St. Martin's Press/ Raincoast Books
Release Date: September 10, 2013

Buy: Amazon| Kobo| Chapters Indigo| B&N

Summary: (Goodreads)

A coming-of-age tale of fan fiction, family and first love. 

Cath is a Simon Snow fan.

Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan...

But for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words... And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this?

Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?

And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?


Review: 

I absolutely loved this book!! Rainbow Rowell you are a brilliant writer and I will definitely be reading more of your books!! I wish I read this when it came out earlier but now that I read it, Fangirl is one of my favorites:) the characters are easy to connect with. There also needs to be a sequel. This was definitely different and it brought me to a happy place. It also made me smile and laugh.  I really did like the protagonist, Cath who I can really relate to.  

Cath is an introvert and her hobby is to escape by writing fan-fiction for her favorite series. This is very easy to connect with because I also love to read and one day if it does happen write a book. Her passion to keep the story alive for her fans is there. Fangirl also is set during Cath's first year in college. College or anywhere you go, will either let you fit in or you can become a misfit or become overwhelmed. The romance of the book unravels as well through her college life, which was nice to see. She is a normal student who struggles in classes like the rest of us, have a crazy family and even become friends with her roommate, who is the exact opposite of Cath. 


This does remind me of what I go through in my everyday life at times through the novel. There was a number of wonderful characters who helped Cath in this story. Regan is her very blunt, honest, and intense roommate. She is really funny, and it really gets Cath to open up. She was cold in the beginning but they really got along! Now to Levi. He really is the most lovable character. His charisma about everything really can spread in and out of the book. Levi is social, friendly and has a smile on his face. Even when he is serious he is really cute. He is different from Cath, but they are perfect together. 


Fangirl was not all about the romance. Family was another big topic that happened. Cath struggle's with her twin sister Wren and a workaholic father. Wren is the opposite of Cath because she wants to experience the college life by drinking and partying. Another was how their mother played a part in the book. She left when the twins were 8. Lots of family drama that was good and bad but can relate to. 

As this was my first Rainbow Rowell novel, it was great since it left me with a smile on my face. I did not want to put it down. The fanfic parts where a part of the story that gave Cath another way to reflect her feelings and write her own story of how she wants to end her favorite book series. If you are looking for another great contemporary read, Rainbow Rowell is a great author. I will be reading more books by her for sure and own on my shelf. 

5/5

Wednesday, July 9, 2014

Cover Reveal: All Broke Down by Cora Carmack

Image Map


We are so excited to get to share the cover for Cora Carmack's ALL BROKE DOWN today! A New Adult Contemporary Romance, and published by William Morrow-an imprint of HarperCollins, this is the second book in her Rusk University Series, and it is set to be released on October 28, 2014! But you can pre-order it NOW! Check out what it's about and then fall in love with this gorgeous cover!

ABOUT:
 In this second book in New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Cora Carmack’s New Adult, Texas-set Rusk University series, which began with All Lined Up, a young woman discovers that you can’t only fight for what you believe in . . . sometimes you have to fight for what you love Dylan fights for lost causes. Probably because she used to be one. Environmental issues, civil rights, corrupt corporations, and politicians—you name it, she’s probably been involved in a protest. When her latest cause lands her in jail overnight, she meets Silas Moore. He’s in for a different kind of fighting. And though he’s arrogant and infuriating, she can’t help being fascinated with him. Yet another lost cause. Football and trouble are the only things that have ever come naturally to Silas. And it’s trouble that lands him in a cell next to do-gooder Dylan. He’s met girls like her before—fixers, he calls them, desperate to heal the damage and make him into their ideal boyfriend. But he doesn’t think he’s broken, and he definitely doesn’t need a girlfriend trying to change him. Until, that is, his anger issues and rash decisions threaten the only thing he really cares about, his spot on the Rusk University football team. Dylan might just be the perfect girl to help. Because Silas Moore needs some fixing after all.

Pre-Order Your Copy Today!

Amazon ** Barnes and Noble ** iTunes

cora-carmacks-all-lined-up

And don’t forget to grab your copy of ALL LINED UP Today!

Amazon ** Barnes & Noble ** iTunes

HeadshotAbout Cora Carmack: Cora Carmack is a twenty-something writer who likes to write about twenty-something characters. She's done a multitude of things in her life-- boring jobs (like working retail), Fun jobs (like working in a theatre), stressful jobs (like teaching), and dream jobs (like writing). She enjoys placing her characters in the most awkward situations possible, and then trying to help them get a boyfriend out of it. Awkward people need love, too. Her first book, LOSING IT, was a New York Times and USA Today bestseller.

Website ** Twitter ** Facebook

Author Goodreads ** ALL BROKE DOWN Goodreads

Image Map

Waiting on Wednesday: The Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows

Title: The Orphan Queen (#1)
Author: Jodi Meadows
Pages: 400
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Release Date: March 10, 2015

Summary (Goodreads)

Wilhelmina has a hundred identities.

She is a princess. When the Indigo Kingdom conquered her homeland, Wilhelmina and other orphaned children of nobility were taken to Skyvale, the Indigo Kingdom’s capital. Ten years later, they are the Ospreys, experts at stealth and theft. With them, Wilhelmina means to take back her throne.

She is a spy. Wil and her best friend, Melanie, infiltrate Skyvale Palace to study their foes. They assume the identities of nobles from a wraith-fallen kingdom, but enemies fill the palace, and Melanie’s behavior grows suspicious. With Osprey missions becoming increasingly dangerous and their leader more unstable, Wil can’t trust anyone.

She is a threat. Wraith is the toxic by-product of magic, and for a century using magic has been forbidden. Still the wraith pours across the continent, reshaping the land and animals into fresh horrors. Soon it will reach the Indigo Kingdom. Wilhelmina’s magic might be the key to stopping the wraith, but if the vigilante Black Knife discovers Wil’s magic, she will vanish like all the others

Jodi Meadows introduces a vivid new fantasy full of intrigue, romance, dangerous magic, and one girl’s battle to reclaim her place in the world.


Sunday, July 6, 2014

The Kiss of Deception (The Remnant Chronicles #1) by Mary E. Pearson

Title: The Kiss of Deception (The Remnant Chronicles #1) 
Author: Mary E. Pearson 
Pages: 492
Genre: YA/Fantasy
Publisher: Henry Holt/ Raincoast/ Macmillan 
Release Date: July 15, 2014
*Received to review by Raincoast Books/Macmillan Kids*
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo| B&N

Summary (Goodreads)


In this timeless new trilogy about love and sacrifice, a princess must find her place in a reborn world.

In a society steeped in tradition, Princess Lia’s life follows a preordained course. As First Daughter, she is expected to have the revered gift of sight—but she doesn’t—and she knows her parents are perpetrating a sham when they arrange her marriage to secure an alliance with a neighboring kingdom—to a prince she has never met.

On the morning of her wedding, Lia flees to a distant village. She settles into a new life, hopeful when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive—and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assasin sent to kill her. Deception abounds, and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets—even as she finds herself falling in love.


Review:


This was an amazing book! I was totally in love with this book, because Lia is a strong female lead. This is the first book I have read by Mary E. Pearson, now that I have read this I will eventually read her other books. The Kiss of Deception had almost everything in a fantasy that I really loved since it had action, romance and sword fighting. There were moments that were shocking, heart-breaking that I did not want to put it down. The writing had a great pace and the romance (I LOVED IT!) 


Told from different point of views, you get into the heads of Lia, the Assassin, and the Prince. Did not have any idea who is the assassin and the prince until it started to label with their name/the end. This was a great twist and it shocked me! It makes sense for this because when Princess Lia runs away and hides in. 
Both male leads are trying to find her, while one is sent to kill Lia, the other wants to find out more about who she is since she left him at the alter without an explanation. This made the book made me guess until the end!! 

The plot hooked me in immediately that I finished the book in two days! Pearson pulls you into her story with this twist and it will also make you fall in love with both male lead characters. Lia is a very independent princess who just wants to live a normal life, she is strong and brave and did what she wanted to do. She wanted to fall in love despite her family and new friends. There is no love triangle in this book. While she is attracted to both, she falls for one and nothing for the other. It had a perfect amount of romance/relationship.  


Very happy that I read this book because that cover is gorgeous! This is a MUST READ! All the characters were really well developed. Pick this book up in July! Mary E. Pearson is a great writer and I definitely cannot wait to read the second book to this series! If you like Fantasy, lots of character growth and a romance you will love this book!! It definitely 

5/5

Wednesday, July 2, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday: Opposition (Lux #5) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: Opposition (Lux #5)
Author: Jennifer L Armentrout
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Release Date: August 5, 2014
Genre: YA - Sci-Fi/Paranormal

Summary: (Goodreads)
Katy knows the world changed the night the Luxen came.

She can't believe Daemon welcomed his race or stood by as his kind threatened to obliterate every last human and hybrid on Earth. But the lines between good and bad have blurred, and love has become an emotion that could destroy her—could destroy them all.

Daemon will do anything to save those he loves, even if it means betrayal.

They must team with an unlikely enemy if there is any chance of surviving the invasion. But when it quickly becomes impossible to tell friend from foe, and the world is crumbling around them, they may lose everything— even what they cherish most—to ensure the survival of their friends…and mankind.

War has come to Earth. And no matter the outcome, the future will never be the same for those left standing


33 MORE DAYS UNTIL OPPOSITION!!!! This is one of my most anticipated books this year along with many other Jennifer L. Armentrout books! I want to re-read them right now!!! If you have not read this series go get it immediately! 

Tuesday, July 1, 2014

Review: You Make Me by Erin McCarthy (Blurred Lines #1)

Title: You Make Me (Blurred Lines #1)
Author: Erin McCarthy
Pages: 289
Released Date: April 17, 2014
Genre: New Adult
Buy:  Amazon

*Received a copy to review for Blog Tour*

Summary: Goodreads
The guy she wants…

Growing up on the coast of Maine with a revolving door of foster siblings, Caitlyn Michaud spent one intense and passionate year falling in love with her foster brother, Heath. Then he left without a word. The betrayal devastated Caitlyn and made her vow to forget the compelling bad boy. But forgetting his sensual touch and their deep all-consuming friendship is easier said than done.

Isn’t the guy she needs…

Determined to move on, in college Caitlyn has risen above her small town impoverished roots and has joined a sorority, reinvented her appearance, and landed the right boyfriend. Pre-law major and frat president, Ethan, is thoughtful and always laughing, and he makes her feel happy, calm. He also gives her the social acceptance she craves. 

But the perfect world she tried so hard to attain is ripped apart when Heath appears one night out of nowhere. Caitlyn remembers all the reasons why she loves him, even if they don’t make sense to anyone but her. Out of the military, Heath is as brooding and intense as ever, and he is determined not only to win her back, but to exact revenge on everyone who kept him from her…

And when one love allows her to breathe, but the other feels as essential to her life as air, how does she choose between them?


Review:

What a great amazing start to a new series! It immediately made me love the story! This is my first Erin McCarthy book and it isn't my last since I only heard great things about her books. It is full of heartbreak, first love, misunderstandings and the plot pulls you in. McCarthy sets everything up with a tone of love and innocence.

Cat is our main character who fell in love at a young age, she meets Heath at chance and they fall in love. While their love was deep that it took years apart and even when she moves on it has never left the strong emotions of when Heath left four years ago. She never understood by he left without and explanation. Now she is in college (junior year) made new friends and is in a relationship with Ethan. Not until Heath reappears and her life begins to unravel, and question everything since Heath left. Heath is not a character to like right away but you can like him after a while. The truths are revealed earlier and McCarthy gives you glimpses of their life before. Hard not to root for Heath and Cat to be together. There is definitely a love triangle and Ethan is not a bad guy, he only fell for Cat's image that she put on. 

The plot was here and there and you can see which one she is going to choose. It did end rather quickly, and it left you wondering what is going to happen. Overall, it was a good story, quick to read and it is a good beach read! 


4/5